Father’s Day

Over the past three days I’ve tried to write this post for you, Dad.

I wanted it to be a happy tribute to you where I talked about all the things you’ve done for me over the years. Like the time when you took me sledding at Mote Park and halfway down the hill I heard you yelling my name and turned to see you running down the hill behind me. A much larger boy was on a collision course with me, and you were yelling for me to roll off the sled. I can’t remember how that all ended. I only remember you trying to save me.

I started looking through old family photographs, thinking maybe I could do a photo collage of you for this Father’s Day post. But what I found were photo after photo of me and my sisters and brother and only a very few photos of you. Mostly they were of you holding Annie for her photo.

Why didn’t you have someone take more pictures of you, Dad? I’d like to ask you that.

You were always behind the camera looking at us. I do the same thing. I take most of the photos. When one of the kids complains that I’m not in many, I just say, “I’m in them all.  I’m looking at you.”

I love this picture Carol took of you when she was in high school and taking a photography class using the 35mm camera you carried through Europe. This is how I remember you most.

Did I ever tell you how proud I am of you and the successful man you made of yourself from your rocky beginnings? Do you know that’s how I feel about you?

Do you know how much I value your home-grown, down-to-earth wisdom?

I know it always bothered you that you never went to college, but I don’t care at all. I’ll always consider you one of the smartest men I’ve ever known.

Do you know that?

What do you think about what you’re going through now with Alzheimer’s?

There are so many questions I’d like to ask you.

But I don’t want to talk about that now. I don’t want to talk about what we’ve lost. I want to talk about what we have.

For today I just want to say how proud I am of, and how much I love the man you were . . .are. The man you are.

Happy Father’s Day, Dad.

Here’s to you, looking at me.

1958 - From left to right — my sisters Carol, Kathy and Me

I’d like to wish everyone a Happy Father’s Day:

If you are a father, I hope you will be the best father you can be.
If your father was not the best man he could have been, I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive.

If your father is still with you on this earth, I hope that you will cherish every moment.
If your father is no longer here, I hope you will find comfort and peace in your memories.

11 Comments on “Father’s Day”

  1. Thedesertrocks says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your dad. Cute sisterly picture.

  2. Really beautiful, Christine! What a wonderful father & man!

  3. Debra says:

    Thank you, Christine….thoughtful and loving words.

    My dad is gone. I love him and he loves me. and that’s all that matters.

    Virtual hugs to everyone that had/has a father. :) yes, that should be everyone.

  4. nrhatch says:

    Love the photo of your and your sisters! Precious.

    It’s hard watching our parents “fade” from their former glory. Hope you still have some good times with your dad, Christine . . . even if the activities have changed due to the Alzheimers.

  5. dogear6 says:

    I love the picture of your Dad – those sideburns are a hoot! Can you believe that used to be the big fashion?

    I also noticed the same thing that I commented on about my father-in-law – how tired he looks. It’s hard working full-time and raising a house full of children too.

    Nancy
    http://dogear6.wordpress.com/2011/04/24/saving-the-best-chocolate-for-easter/

  6. pattisj says:

    Beautiful, touching post, Christine. Such happy little girls!

  7. Sally says:

    Love this post! Especially the line “For today I just want to say how proud I am of, and how much I love the man you were . . .are. The man you are.”
    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!

  8. hugmamma says:

    A handsome man…a wonderful life. ;)

  9. Hermionejh says:

    The pictures are so precious, Christine. I’m so glad your father was there for you, and worked so hard for his family, and that you were able to tell him how proud you are of him, and that it’s his turn to be taken care of.
    I sometimes wonder if my relationship with my father would have improved if he lived longer, but I am grateful that I got to talk with him and be heard.

    • CMSmith says:

      I’m so glad he was there for me too. His own father wasn’t for him.

      I’m glad you feel that you have some resolution with your dad, even though it may not be ideal.


Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers