Self-Publishing Update—The Proof Copy has Arrived

So many of you have supported me through this journey of writing and then self-publishing my memoir, Dancing in Heaven. I wanted to share this special moment with you. The video is about six and a half minutes long and includes short clips about my writing process.

Admittedly, my cinematography skills need a little improvement.

But I hope you enjoy the moment with me.

I did cry.

To make YouTube videos load faster, pause the video to allow it to completely load before playing, fast forward the video to a certain point, or download the video from YouTube to a computer.” Watch video by Gabriel Bahiru.

29 Comments on “Self-Publishing Update—The Proof Copy has Arrived”

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Christine….I cried with you! I am very excited for you. What an accomplishment!!! Hugs!

  2. suzicate says:

    I’m so happy for you. Congratulations. All your hard work has paid off and the big day has arrived, just awesome!

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I cried… Congrats… that must have been an awesome feeling to hold your book in your hands for the first time…

  4. CONGRATULATIONS Christine!!!!! OMG I LOVE the movie! So glad you made it; thank you for sharing! Just beautiful — the book looks lovely and I know how emotional a moment it must have been for you, as I could see your hands shaking. (p.s. I was so afraid you’d tip the coffee cup over onto the books, whew! :)

    • CMSmith says:

      Thanks, Julia. The milestones are different for self-publishers, and I think a lot of the glitz and drama is not there for them as much as for traditionally published authors. But getting the physical book in your hands feels like a big moment.

      You make me laugh.

  5. Okay, I got quite teary-eyed as you opened the box and held the first copy in your hands. Thank you so much for sharing such a touching moment with us, Christine! And congratulations! I look forward to reading it.

  6. nrhatch says:

    Congratulations! It looks great. :D

  7. Arrrgh Christine… I have only known you a very short while.. But I was so emotional with you as you took us through your journey here with collecting all your research for the book and showing us step by step just how much has gone into this book…
    I have tears too… and so I congratulate you on your book once again.. and I am certain your sister too would be giving her big seal of approval also.. Beautiful.. xox

  8. pattisj says:

    Thanks for sharing this special moment with us, Christine. I liked the comment about your “next first book.” If you don’t write about something near and dear to your heart, who would want to read that? Food for thought. If it’s worth writing, you will pour your heart and soul into it.

  9. dogear6 says:

    Thanks so much for the posting the video. I was surprised at how emotional I felt when you opened the box and took the book out – congratulations! How very exciting for you.

    Nancy
    http://www.dogear6.com

  10. You did it Sis! You must be very proud of yourself. Nice idea to video that special moment. The first of many more great works I’m sure ! Keep going.

    Love you, Carol

  11. Hermionejh says:

    That is so fantastic and looks like it felt amazing! Congratulations and I wish you lots of copies sold! Cheers!

  12. hugmamma says:

    God bless all the hard work you’ve done. You’re sure to be rewarded for bringing your sister’s, and your family’s, story to readers. :)

  13. Years and years of my stuff. I keep only the final drafts. They have no value to anyone but me and my kids will probably pitch away copies even of things in which I was published. The first thought upon hearing your gentle, kind and soothing voice was that you should be on tape reading children’s books. They would listen. Thank you for sharing the precious moment. It was as though we watched you finally give birth.

    • CMSmith says:

      I’m going to have to go through all my files and pitch anything but final drafts. I think that is a good plan.

      Thank you for your kind comments. I’m thinking about reading a couple of excerpts of my book for my website.

  14. [...] post that was surprisingly successful was  Self-Publishing Update— The Proof Copy has Arrived (September 22nd). That was a regular big screen production. I almost took the first train to L.A. [...]

  15. Linda Hoye says:

    I cried watching this too! Congratulations!

  16. [...] have an idea that I got from Christine Grote about how I can share that moment with you [...]


Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 357 other followers