Thanks and Links

Award Nominations

I’ve received some new blog award nominations that I want to share with you.

I want to officially thank Nancy over at My Life in Photos for nominating me for the Kreativ Blog Award. To accept the award, I have to share a little about myself and then pass it on.

I would also like to thank Miranda at Scattering Moments for nominating me for the Liebster Blog Award which recognizes blogs with fewer than 200 followers that really are worth reading. To accept the award I need to  recognize the person who sent it to me by linking back to them, and nominate 5 other blogs for the award.

Acceptance Speeches

One thing you should know about me is that I frequently find myself unable to strictly follow rules. I don’t know why that is, but I have my ideas. Although Nancy nominated six, (which is probably one of the rules) I’m only going to mention two blogs here to pass it on to, because they are the two that stand out in my mind, at this moment, as the most creative blogs I read (and because the likelihood of my true, faithful, and much appreciated readers visiting six blogs isn’t very high). I’m hoping you’ll visit these two:

1. Refrain from the Identical – dare to live creatively by JoDee Luna, and

2.Speak of the Devil by William Kendall.

You can tell right by the name, that JoDee deserves this award, if she hasn’t already received it. Or for that matter, even if she has. She does some pretty cool stuff and then shows us pictures of it on her blog. She is in the final stages of self-publishing her book by the same title. I hope you’ll take a minute and stop by her site. Here’s a terrific post for the holidays – The Best Christmas Gifts: Framing Memories.

You can also tell by the name, that William maybe doesn’t deserve this award. (Only kidding, William). I don’t know where he comes up with the images he posts, but he finds some good ones. His recent post on The War of the Canines had me laughing out loud. (If you do nothing else, scan down the page and look at the photos. You will laugh. The Willy Wonka one is my favorite.) If you prefer cats, he has one about those too, but you’ll have to find it for yourself.

Here’s the thing. I’m not really sure how to know if someone has less than 200 followers. Rule-breaking warning. So this is what I’m going to do: If you have less than two hundred followers and would like to be nominated for this award, leave a comment and I will add a link to your blog here. I’m going with the first five:

1. Cynthia Robertson, Writer – Cynthia has been a great blogging friend. She’s kind of quiet and doesn’t fill the web with chatter, but she is thoughtful. She wrote a beautiful review of Dancing in Heaven that I shared with you earlier and made me feel like she really “got” it. Her recent post on Why Do You Write starts with a joke you don’t want to miss. Plus, she’s got the snow working on her blog. Can’t wait to put it on mine. Congratulations on your nomination, Cynthia.

2. My Life in Photos – Nancy (aka dogear6), who nominated me for the Kreativ Blog award, has an interesting blog you might like to take a look at. It’s so much more than just her life in photos. The thing I like the best about Nancy’s blog is she picks a random word and then finds or takes a picture and writes a short post about it. It’s usually a quick and interesting read. You might even want to get in the game if you’re at a loss for ideas. Nancy also wrote one of my earliest reviews for Dancing in Heaven. Congratulations on your nomination, Nancy.

3.

4.

5.

(This could be really embarrassing if no one shows up for the party.)
Now I’m going to go post all my award badges in the side bar.
It’s another gray and rainy day here. I’m trying not to let it get me down, but I’m not sure I’m succeeding.
I hope it’s sunny where you are.

And in case you missed it, today is the 70th anniversary of the bombing of Pearl Harbor.

23 Comments on “Thanks and Links”

  1. I’ll bite. I’ve been lusting after this award. (Just teasing…but I do think it’s one of the cooler ones.)
    Will check out the links you recommend, Christine. And congrats on your nomination. You deserve it!

  2. Congrats on your award Christine! And…is it me, or does Dec 7th seem to pass by with slightly less fanfare each year? I know my High Schooler has said nothing about it even being mentioned in school this week, which is sad.

    • CMSmith says:

      I don’t think it’s you. I just think WWII is long ago, and we’ve been attacked since then. So maybe 9-11 is a much bigger deal to most living Americans today. (And you know we can’t handle more than one big deal at a time.)

      I just read Unbroken, so the whole WWII and the fight with Japan is fresh on my mind.

  3. Congratulations on the lovely awards — that are most definitely deserved by your lovely blog (and you!)!! I will be checking out the two recipients!

  4. Congratulations on the awards, Christine. I look forward to checking out the blogs you recommend. Thanks for the links.
    Kathy

  5. pattisj says:

    Congratulations, Christine! Those look great on your side bar!

  6. JoDee Luna says:

    I am so honored, Christine, to receive this blogging award from you because your blog inspires me far beyond what you could ever know. I will pass it on to others with pride!

  7. dogear6 says:

    Christine – I’d love to be nominated for this award. I have WAYYYY less than 200 subscribers. However, they are very faithful to read my blog, leave comments and press the like button :)

    You’re one of them too! Thank you for that.

    Nancy

    • CMSmith says:

      Congratulations. Consider yourself nominated. I get caught up in the numbers from time to time as well. But I think you’re right. It’s the faithful who read that really matter, not the numbers.

      I made Freshly Pressed early out in my blogging career (February) twice. I got a gazillion hits, and it was all very exciting for a day or two, but very few stayed. It’s the ones who stay that count.

  8. [...] blogs to date. Read the wonderful tribute she wrote about Refrain from the Identical in her post “Thanks and Links.” I wish I could grace Christine with the award for the second time, but as far as I can figure out, [...]

  9. Thank you very much, Christine! I shall have to pass this on as soon as time allows!

    As to the war, I can only say that as a Canadian, as time goes on, we seem to be more aware of the importance of those events. Pearl Harbor as part of the war does resonate with us, but of course, by that point, our country had already been in the war for a couple of years.

  10. Robin says:

    Congratulations, Christine! :)

    Pearl Harbor Day is easy for me to remember. (It’s my birthday, although I was born a a few years later.)

  11. Congratulations on your well deserved award xx


Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 357 other followers