Welcome back garden

Welcome back garden.

It’s time to go brown sedum, faithful garden keeper through winter’s cold.

Welcome back gazing globe, shiny bubble that glows with sunlight.

Hello sweet woodruff,

my bleeding hearts,

and shy columbine.

Clear away your dry skirts, daylilies.

Climb to the sky, Jacob’s ladder.

And bloom again pure daisies, simple flower of my heart.

Sweep away the leaves, angel who guards our path, and surround yourself with green.

Rise up small owl, fallen to rest, and stake your claim.

Stand up and face the sun, little light that shines in night.

Bloom bright daffodils, bloom.

Welcome back garden. We’ve been waiting for you.

 

See more posts about gardening in my series.


38 Comments on “Welcome back garden”

  1. Oh YES, welcome back, lovely green! :)

    And I love your new photo, Christine.

  2. Beautiful pictures as always, Christine. I am so ready for spring and it looks like you are, too.

    • CMSmith says:

      We just got a doozy of a thunderstorm that started out of the blue straight above our house. The rumbling sounded like someone pushing a heavy cart down the hall without end. It was followed by the largest crash I’ve ever heard thunder make. I thought maybe it was a sonic boom or something. Remember when planes used to do that?

  3. I just found your page, and I love it. Beautiful pics and flowers. Please post more once they’ve grown.

  4. Cathy says:

    Are your daffodils not blooming? It’s amazing what a difference of a few miles make. It must be warmer by the river.

    • CMSmith says:

      Yes. We’re very far north here. People on the west side probably consider it the arctic zone.

      We had a few bunches of yellow daffodils in the wooded area, but those in my garden are white with orange centers. If I were a true gardener I would know their name, and I might also know if they typically bloom a bit later than the yellow ones. They’re in bloom today.

  5. WOOHOO — spring!! So ready for it here, too! (p.s. couldn’t use my google account to comment… denied me access!)

  6. Oh, Christine, your garden is gorgeous! Love the gazing globe and the green beginning to peak through winter’s dead, dry leaves. Happy Spring, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  7. It looks like you have a beautiful garden. I’m waiting for the first plants to pop through the ground at my house. We’re about 3 weeks later than where I work, where the daffodils popped through about a week or so ago.

    • CMSmith says:

      Thank you. Most of it was here before we got here two years ago. We just tend it. I love to be outside and there’s nothing better than working with nature while I’m out there.

  8. There’s nothing coming up quite yet here; there’s still snow melting. My landlady, who’s in her late eighties and still loves to work out in her garden, is getting impatient.

    • CMSmith says:

      I’ll bet she is. I’m still a little nervous about removing the leaf coverings that function as mulch. We could still get a hard freeze. I’ve got my fingers crossed.

  9. skipper12383 says:

    You sure have a GREEN thumb! Your garden when in full bloom looks beautiful…. my daffodils are in full bloom now, but they are the yellow ones which I know bloom first… they still look great growing on the side of my house and driveway….
    Ed (Hugs)

    • CMSmith says:

      I didn’t know that about the yellow daffodils, although I had theorized that might be the case when my white ones weren’t yet blooming. They are today.

  10. suzicate says:

    I love when the first green shoots arrive and then the colors start bursting forth! Yay for spring!

  11. It’s truly wonderful how our earth speaks to us! I have so enjoyed your photos! I grew up in Michigan, but now live in the Northeast. Spring is trying to find its way here as well. I really loved your photos of the cardinals! Happy Belated birthday as well!
    Blessings to you today and always, Erin, Bella Bleue

    • CMSmith says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. One of my good blogging buddies lives in Maine where she has bemoaned the snow. I think things might be springing up there now.

      Thanks for the birthday wishes.

  12. Sallyann says:

    Hurray !
    Spring is sprung. :-)

  13. thank you for this lovely wander through your garden. The beauty of Spring is creeping up on us all.

  14. Robin says:

    Beautiful post. I can almost see your garden in full bloom once again. :)

  15. Such a difference since all that IVy went.. looking good with the wood chip down.. Spring is a wonderful time I love to see what springs forth every year.. ~Sue xx

    • CMSmith says:

      There is a big difference in the sections where the ivy is gone. Tragically, there are still areas full of ivy and the ivy is popping it’s leaves up everywhere. But thank you.

      These very first early days of spring are my very favorites.

  16. pattisj says:

    This reminds me that I have some work to do outside. :)


Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers