Two early spring mysteries and two quacking garden inspectors

Yesterday, March 20th – the first day of Spring

This morning the birds were singing in full chorus when I went out onto the deck to take my daily picture of the woods greening up that I hope to make into a slide show. But the process is  a little haphazard at the moment, so don’t hold your breath. I should have created some way to control the actual angle or perspective rather than just randomly walking out and taking a shot.

I also wanted to bring you the full scale version of the single blossom on this tree that appeared in my Early spring gardening post.

This is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen. Why is there only one flower? Do you know? My best working theory at the moment is that the squirrels ate all the buds but missed that one. What do you think?

While I was contemplating this important issue, a noise drew my attention back down to the creek where I saw a frisky fawn running along until it saw me.

There is a fawn in this picture. Look for the white edge of the tail.

Then it climbed the bank and went into the cover of the woods. It clearly was a fawn, but not a really early one, giving me a new question to ponder. Do does have fawns at different times of year? This fawn seemed too old to be a new-born like I’ve seen in past years. Yet, I’m sure it wasn’t the older ones that have traveled through our yard all year and that ate the apples I left for them.

Two early spring mysteries. Any ideas?

Later that day.

Two garden inspectors stopped by late in the day yesterday after a brief swim in the creek.

I hope my newly planted Columbine passes inspection.

Oh no. I knew I should have gotten those wildflower seeds distributed in the wooded area bordering the garden.

Shoot. I was hoping they wouldn’t notice that back corner where I didn’t get the leaves cleared from yet. These guys are tough.

They’re not going to find anything out of kilter up here. I just spent a lot of time cleaning and straightening things up here. There may be a few stray seeds around from the feeder, but that can only be good.

I think they seem satisfied with this.

Oh no. Where is she going to now? Please. Not the angel garden.

I wish I could hear what they are talking about.

I’m sure they’ve seen all the Chameleon ivy poking it’s head up. I’m never going to hear the end of it.


36 Comments on “Two early spring mysteries and two quacking garden inspectors”

  1. That one blossom is amazing, Christine, I have no idea how that could have happened.
    And your animal friends are adorable :D
    Happy spring, my friend.

  2. All amazing photos. I love the duck inspectors. Your world is greening much more quickly than mine.

  3. Robin says:

    LOL! I love your garden inspectors. It seems early for a fawn, even an older one. I wonder if the mild winter has the deer off schedule as well.

    • I saw it from a distance. But it looked small, and behaved the way fawns do. You can really tell the children of a species. I see the same thing with squirrels. Maybe the fawns I saw with the apple are two years old and this one was one. I really don’t know. I thought fawns left their mothers after the first year. It’s a mystery.

  4. suzicate says:

    All kinds of goodies, furry, feathery, and flowery! And yay no snakes yet!

    • I think you just jinxed me. Last night when I let Arthur out after dark, I noticed something small on the sidewalk that Arthur was quite interested in. Upon further investigation I saw it was a small snake.

      So, no, the snakes are here as well.

  5. MindMindful says:

    Loving the garden inspectors, haha

    And, I’m awarding you the Sunshine Award! Follow the link to learn the ‘conditions’ & to capture the badge for display on your blog. http://wp.me/p1zocx-12T (Let me know if you need help with that, ok?) Congrats to you:)

  6. […] Two early spring mysteries and two quacking garden inspectors (randomthoughtsfrommidlife.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterStumbleUponFacebookLinkedInRedditDiggEmailPrintLike this:LikeOne blogger likes this post. […]

  7. JoDee Luna says:

    I’m sitting here wondering what it would be like to look out my window and see all of this! Thanks for letting me look out your window.

  8. You have such a beautiful garden Christine! I especially love the deer and ducks. How fun to have them in your back yard.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  9. Sallyann says:

    Love the garden inspectors. :-)

  10. What a beautiful and fun way to start the day! :)

  11. what a delightful stroll, along with the inspectors, around your place.

  12. I don’t think deer give birth except in the spring. Perhaps that was just a small yearling? My family used to live on a camp with a pet deer, Azalea, who grew up, came into heat, and pawed my back. Despite this, I love those creatures. One of the most graceful animals in the world. Lovely pictures, as always.

    • I think you’re probably right. I love them too. They are so calm and beautiful. It’s amazing how they will stand perfectly still and gaze at us. The young ones are simply enchanting.

  13. Marvelous pictures, Christine! Especially the garden inspectors!

    I think it’s a yearling. Maybe on the small side, but as it got through the first winter, that means it’ll survive to adulthood.

  14. The Desert Rocks says:

    Love your post especially because I also wrote about spring this week. Those ducks look suspicious to me and of course the deer might have noshed or stomped on some of those buds too.

  15. dogear6 says:

    I’ll trade you the ducks for some squirrels. . . and they’re all in pairs too!

  16. pattisj says:

    Your mallards may be looking for a suitable nesting site. One set up housekeeping in my niece’s flower bed.
    The single blossom is a curiosity. Fawns are normally born late spring. Maybe this was the “runt of the litter?”

  17. lydiaa5656 says:

    Beautiful pictures CM.

  18. […] Two early spring mysteries and two quacking garden inspectors (randomthoughtsfrommidlife.wordpress.com) Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers