Masters of denial

Here’s another example of achieving mind over matter by controlling your perspective.

When I was in college in the 70s, and my mind was in the very initial stages of becoming cluttered, but still remained relatively imaginative, I’d sometimes take a book and a blanket to a nearby park and settle myself under a tree.

It was on one of these occasions that I heard and then noticed a plane far up in the sky and I imagined the people on board sitting in their tiny allocated spaces reading or sleeping or sitting silently occupied with their own thoughts, (this was before personal computers, I-pads or pods, and portable DVD-playing devices).

I couldn’t see them, but I knew they were there. And it was unsettling for me to see them moving through the sky like that so far up in the air.

The last time I boarded a plane to travel was like all the previous ones. I occupied myself with the minutiae of the moment. Where’s my boarding pass? Is my cell phone turned off? What do I need out of my carry-on before I stash it in the overhead bin?

Like robotrons, we all boarded the plane and settled ourselves in our tiny allocated spaces.

Do you think I could have sat on a plane thousands of feet above Mother earth being propelled through the sky at amazing speeds without breaking a sweat, not to mention having a nervous breakdown, if my mind was fully in the moment and intensely conscious of where I really was and what I was doing? Doubt it. Maybe you could, but I’m just not that trusting.

I don’t think about it.

I know a woman who refuses to fly.

I understand.

It’s the rest of us who are either crazy or masters of denial.

Flight to Kaua'i
Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

Comments

