Hula and fire dancers

We went to a “Hawaii Alive” luau show while we were in Kauai. The directors, Wallis and his wife Shana Punua follow the legacy of his parents Victor & Ku’ulei Punua who taught and performed Hawaiian music and dance for 60 years. Their Halau (school) has received recognition as an invitee to the prestigious Merrie Monarch Hula Competition.

It was a soul-stirring performance.

Dancers in colorful rich costumes danced modern Hawaiian dances as well as the traditional dances that have been taught from woman to woman, or man to man, through the ages. Because of this preservation of tradition and culture through dance, I felt transported back through time. How long ago were the native women of these islands telling these same exact stories with hand and body motions set to the stirring song of the Hawaiian drums?

The women dancers were beautiful, graceful, sensual, and energetic. The men danced with unrestrained vigor and passion.

The native language, instruments, costumes, dance movements and fire flames all combined to create a rich cultural experience.

Leaving me to wonder, what is my culture as an Anglo American descended from primarily Germanic traditions with a bit of England, France, Scotland and Ireland thrown in?

Hot dogs, apple pie and Chevrolet?

Thank goodness the government didn’t let Chevrolet go under.

(I have a couple of very cool pictures that I can’t figure out how to transfer from my I-pad to my blog. Check back later. This blogging-from-an-I-pad has it’s challenges. I am looking forward to being settled in front of my laptop once again. Thank goodness for the comforts of home, or I’d never want to leave paradise.)

2 thoughts on “Hula and fire dancers”

  1. I lived in Hawaii for three years and my husband grew up there (for the most part) so we visit family as often as we can. Whenever I get a chance to participate in some true local culture, I have the same thoughts. I wonder what people in the future (if there are any) will say about modern society when we are figments of history. If society is defined by culture, who are we really?

Comments

