Spock and Alanis Morissette

I was going to finish my photos from Italy today because you’re tired of them, I’m tired of them, and I want to move on to Ireland by St. Patrick’s Day, but I woke up thinking about Japan.

So I’m posting today about two mostly unrelated things, but not really, Japan and Figments of a Dutchess, a blog I’m following.

What a nightmare the people in Japan are living through, and possibly not living through. Having been educated as a chemical engineer in the late 70s, although I don’t have a lot of knowledge about nuclear reactions, I do understand chemical ones and how these things can spiral out of control taking on a life of their own. I’ve listened to the nuclear physicists on CNN explain rod exposure to air, melt-down, by-product fires, and container breach—it’s scary indeed.

The fifty brave and loyal Japanese nuclear plant workers who have stayed behind when it was no longer safe to be there are truly heroes. Their living nightmare must be one of little sleep or food, and great physical effort. They are in a battle zone in a toxic environment. They are the only living human beings at the center of a circle with a 30-kilometer radius. They are like warriors in a sci-fi movie fighting something living and growing that is bigger than themselves. They are like Spock in Star Trek II — The Wrath of Khan when he dies from radiation exposure while living his motto, “The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few.”

God bless them and God bless their loved ones.

The reason I mention Alanis Morissette is that I regularly follow a blog called Figments of a Dutchess by Marion Driessen who lives in the south of Holland. She’s an avid reader of fantasy, mysteries & thrillers, plays RPGames and is roleplayer in Dungeons & Dragons campaigns, which all brings back warm memories of my son Michael when he lived at home and was interested in the same.  She is a talented writer and writes about all kinds of things, including the culture in Holland which I find fascinating.  Today she posted a link to a song by Alanis Morissette about finding the strength within, that I listened to and was inspired by. I hope you will be too.   Figments of a Dutchess—Alanis Morissette.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

12 thoughts on “Spock and Alanis Morissette”

      1. Debra, correct me if I’m wrong:

        Two hands, palms together, signaling the greeting, “Namaste.”

        Meaning: The spirit in me bows to the spirit in you.

  1. Toiling like these workers do, in the midst of chaos and danger, with the constant stress of fighting against processes out of control, the knowledge there is radiation seeping into their bodies, to know they are doing everything and anything so save their families, friends and other Japanese, fills me with awe and deep respect.
    Thank you, my thoughts are with these true heroes.
    ~Mar

  2. Thanks, CM.

    Watching what’s going on makes me more convinced than ever that we need to leave coal, nuclear, oil and gas behind . . . and focus on Wind, Waves, Solar, and Geothermal energy sources.

    1. I need to become better informed. We did a project on Geothermal energy my senior year in college as a Chemical Engineering major. That’s been more than 30 years ago, so we’re not making very fast progress on this one.

      I am not well-enough informed about any of these options. Sometimes I wonder if we harnessed all the sun’s power and used it to run our microwaves and computers, would that have repercussions we haven’t thought about yet in terms of Global cooling, or vegetation? I just don’t know enough about any of it.

      I guess my material and energy balances class back in 1976 haunts me.

  3. Thanks for sharing your insider’s view of events unfolding with Japan’s nuclear tragedy. It’s hard to imagine what they are going through. When I walked my dog this morning, I couldn’t help but think how strange life is that where I am skies are clear, the scent of pine trees hangs heavy in the air, and peace reigns.

    Meanwhile the scenes of Japan’s world turned upside down kept playing over and over again in my mind. All I could think was to pray for those whose world is light years away from the one I find myself safely ensconced in…at least for now.

    makes one think…hugmamma.

  4. All I can think to do is pray for them. They really are heroes, the sacrifices they are making is more than we can ask of any individual. If anything how much more proof do we need that nuclear energy’s risks outweigh the benefits, there are other alternatives.

Comments

