The road from New York to Providence

We’re on the road again, and don’t I feel like Willie Nelson. After driving 10 or 11 hours yesterday, I lost count, we stopped in Morristown, N.J. for the night which is just a bit south and west from the New York City.

If you look closely, you can almost make out the skyline from this photo. At least this is a photo of some part of N.Y. City. We were driving past the skyline for a while, and already passed up a very small Statue of Liberty silhouette in the distance, before I decided to snap a shot.

I’m shooting these photos with my little Nikon Coolpix that I stashed in my little Vera Bradley backpack that was a gift from my sister a while back. But then I digress.

We took the George Washington bridge over the Hudson River. I wanted to get a shot of the bridge supports from right underneath like I did with the Eiffel Tower, but then I wasn’t flying along a road, bent over trying to shoot photos out of a dirty windshield in Paris.

But in case you don’t believe that I truly was in New York based on the previous photos, I took this photo of the Bronx road sign as proof. Of course, I could have Photoshopped this to read “Bronx” if I was talented with Photoshop, which I’m not. But you don’t know that. You’ll just have to trust me.

Wow. Look how dirty our windshield is. In this picture you can also see the computer printout for Extended Stay America hotel that will be home sweet home for our youngest son for the next three months.

Another Bronx sign for proof. I didn’t Photoshop this one either. Now I’ve probably made you wonder. But if you look closely you will see one of the bridges into NYC that I was actually trying to photograph, but got the sign instead. I’m doing the best I can here.

Here’s what my little Nikon Coolpix did with a tunnel scene while moving at 60 miles an hour.  All the creepy plumbing lining the walls isn’t visible in this photo, but the dirt on the windshield sure is. Somebody take this car through a car wash. Pleeeeze.

I’m going to spare you the photos of the Bronx that I took as we drove through on I-78, or maybe we were on I-95 by then. If you live there, you’ll know. If you don’t, you probably don’t care.

I just skipped right through Connecticut without taking photos. It seems like we were on a lot of not-very-photogenic-overpasses crowded with cars.

But when we got to Rhode Island, things changed. The road was lined with very dense leafless trees, their bare branches clustered and looking almost soft. It was really beautiful. And in all fairness, once we got away from the larger cities, Connecticut looked like this too. In fact, I think this actually is Connecticut.

This is the exit to a road that will take you to Ashaway, R.I. which may not be significant to you, but is quite significant to me. If we stop there on our return trip on Monday, it will be the third time I’ve been there. Family calls.

I really wanted you to see this. Check out all the rocks on the ground beneath the trees. It’s quite notable. I remember now driving through this area in the past and seeing a lot of short rock walls. I’m not sure where all these rocks came from, but it’s a lot different from where I live, or most of the places I’ve been. Just look at all of these.

Ouch! What happened here?

At the outset of this trip our GPS estimated the travel time to be 3 hours and 15 minutes. Over four hours later we arrived in Providence, R.I. This is a photo of a guardrail, I mean, of a pier. There were some really quaint little colorful boats here that I was trying to capture—rather unsuccessfully it appears.

Tomorrow I’m going to try to get a picture of the ocean.

8 thoughts on “The road from New York to Providence”

  1. Having driven that route often in my life (as recently as this past Christmas) I will testify that you were indeed where you said you were. 🙂

  2. We love road trips, and especially that view of the GW Bridge — thanks so much for bringing back wonderful memories! (p.s. found you via E.J. Wesley’s site — I’m also a daily blogger, by choice. As you say, keeps me writing!) Looking forward to checking in frequently!

  3. We lived in Redding, CT for 11 years before moving here to the Pacific Northwest. I absolutely loved New England…except for the ice and having to shovel snow…a lot.

Comments

