Angel and Woodland Gardens

May 4, 2010

Today we’re going back outside to plant perennials, bushes and a tree in our angel and woodland gardens that run along the driveway in our front yard. I call the terraced bottom two levels my angel garden, largely because I am putting my angel statues there. Everybody needs an angel statue or two. I differentiate this tiered garden from the top section because it gets pretty-much full-day sun, whereas the top is really a wooded, shaded area that I hope to eventually make into a woodland garden with a little walking path that winds through the trees and perhaps a bench to sit on.

May 2010

I love this angel. She looks exactly how I often feel.

The angel and woodland gardens were an overgrown mess when we started working last April.

April 1, 2010

The upper woodland section was full of old and brittle honeysuckle tangled around a couple of hawthorn trees and strangling out young maple trees. Mature vines, one-two inches in diameter were climbing up most of the trees. Some of these monstrosities were poison ivy. Other vines were streaming down over the rocks and through the angel garden trying to strangle the emerging plants.

April 1, 2010

You can see the vines creeping across the stone in this picture.

April 6, 2011

This spring, after a little light clean-up of leaves and fall refuse, the daffodils are blooming unencumbered. Gosh, I feel like I can breathe better just looking at them.

Last year when we tackled the woodland section it was like working in a jungle.

April 8, 2010

You can see one of the large honeysuckles here. Mark hates honeysuckle. He initiated his mission to eradicate them—every last one.

April 8, 2010

We had a system that worked pretty well. I cut the large branches down and dragged them off the hill, then Mark dug out the roots. Honeysuckle is not an easy plant to get rid of. It is not native to our area and like the Virginia Creeper, if you don’t control it, it will take over the woods.

The honeysuckle did provide a privacy screen of sorts, but the woods look so much nicer without it.

April 2010

You can see where we’d worked on the left and the honeysuckle remaining on the right. We were about halfway done. We were uncovering and freeing up lovely viburnum, fire and oak leaf hydrangea bushes, some of which we couldn’t see beneath the honeysuckle.

April 1, 2010

There is a path leading up the hill on the right. It is on a slope and I hope to install wooden log “steps” like I’ve seen on trails in parks that will provide easier access to the woodland area on top. You can see the honeysuckle here. It was difficult to even walk through this area until we cut out some of the branches. When we started, our initial motivation was to try to eliminate the poison ivy because Mark is extremely allergic. But it immediately became apparent that to successfully remove the vines, a lot of the overgrown plants had to go as well. It was what I call the “mushroom” effect, kind of like when we needed a new microwave and ended up with an entirely remodeled  kitchen.

April 6, this year.

Look at all these pretty little purple wildflowers growing all over on the path leading up to the woodland garden.

On Friday we bought creeping phlox, daisies, peonies, raspberry bushes, hydrangea bushes, blue salvia and a flowering crab apple tree. Now the real fun begins.

 

See more posts about gardening in my series.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

12 thoughts on “Angel and Woodland Gardens”

    1. Thank you. I am exhausted from working outside most of the day—although mostly I stood and watched while Mark worked. 😉

      I’m getting too old for this stuff.

      1. Amen. I totally agree. I’ve yet to get out into our garden, although the continuing wintry-like weather has given me an excuse. Once it heats up, I’ll be bounding outdoors with Mocha. Right now my arthritis keeps me firmly planted indoors.

        Thanks for sharing your lovely gardens, and wonderful story. I didn’t realize, however, that honeysuckle could be such a threat to other plants. I’ve not been successful in growing it in my garden. Maybe I’ve been lucky without knowing it.

    1. It is extremely satisfying, but without Mark, I’m afraid very little of it would be done. When we were younger I did most or all the work in my garden, but now I do a lot of standing and watching.

    1. I would like to work a little in it every day. I think that would be easier on my back and knees, but unfortunately the weather has been sort of sporatic and we work when we can.

  1. Wow!… What a transformation.. But then you knoe the Angels are working along side you, They inspire.. while you do all the hard work…
    I too have Angels and Fairies in my garden.. And I leave a little corner to grow wild.. and you would be surprised at the amount of wild flowers that just love that corner that are self set from birds….
    We have an Allotment where we grow vegetables too.. lots of back breaking work but well worth the rewards..

    Loving it here browsing around your space,..
    Have a Good Day.. 🙂

Comments

