Happy Birthday, Bambi — part 2

A week had passed since I saw the baby deer, and I hadn’t seen hide nor hair of the fawn or the doe. Then when I was getting breakfast one morning, I noticed a deer crossing from the woods into our  back yard outside the kitchen window.

I did the best I could taking photos through the kitchen window. I didn’t want to go outside and scare the deer away. She was alone.

She walked through the yard,

and down to the bank of the creek, where she stood for a moment and then walked on down into the creek bed..

A little while afterwards, I took Arthur for another walk. And amazingly enough, we saw another fawn.

This fawn was curled up near a tree, maybe ten feet away from where I saw the fawn a week ago. Was it the same fawn? Did the mother consider this her child-care center while she went off to bring home the bacon?

Or was it a different fawn with a different mother? Did the ladies in the neighorhood view my neighbor’s yard as their own personal maternity ward?

Was it a second fawn of the same mother? So many questions and no good way to get answers.

I went back to my internet and found some interesting information about fawns. (It is short and worth reading.)

I didn’t see the mother come back. But in the following weeks, and throughout the summer, we saw a large deer followed by two small spotted ones cross through our woodland garden, walk down through the woods and to the creek. One question answered—same mother.

One summer day, I was power-washing our front walk when Arthur started barking, and I looked up to see the two little deer across the private drive. They were pawing at the ground and nodding their heads as if calling Arthur to come and play. Arthur, confined by his electric fence, ran across the front of our yard in what appeared to be an attempt to engage them in a game of chase. They ignored him, so he ran back. I stood watching, amused. Then all of a sudden the two deer turned and ran into the woods across the drive, and Arthur followed them! He ran out of the electric fence and disappeared into the woods. Lickety split.

I ran to the door, opened it and called for Mark to come quick and bring the chicken. We use little chicken chunks as rewards for Arthur. He loves them and will do most anything for them. Meanwhile, our daughter, who was living here at the time, witnessed the entire episode and came running down the driveway with the baggie of chicken bits in hand.

I was across the drive by now and peering into the woods. Soon we saw Arthur at a distance, standing around and looking kind of lost. Evidently he couldn’t keep up with his new would-be friends and got ditched relatively quickly. Even though we were calling for him, however, he wouldn’t come.

Eventually my hero, and husband, braved the overgrown spider-and-snake-infested ivy-covered ground and made his way to rescue Arthur. Intense fear of small dog lost in the woods turns to immense relief.

The deer continued to accompany their mother through our yard during the fall and winter. Their spots went away and they grew larger so that I could no longer easily tell the babies from the mother. I was never able to capture them on film.

And Arthur was kept closely guarded whenever they were near.

I think the two  little deer we watched grow up from a distance have now been ditched by their mother as she starts a new family.

We’ll have to see.

Fawn seen through my kitchen window yesterday morning.

A few blogs you might be interested in:

Schooling Your Horse – Author Lorraine Jennings, from the UK, has worked with horses since 1985 and is now writing feature articles for PONY, Horse and Rider, and Ireland’s Horse and Pony Equestrian Life. She is also working on a book, There’s More than One Way to School Your Horse. Her blog opens up a whole new world for city-dwellers.

Hayden’s Hope  Dedicated to raising awareness and research funds for a rare bone disease called F.O.P.(Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva).- I just found this blog today through a link on Twitter. Blogger Megan Olsen Pheif writes about a rare genetic disorder her son suffers from called Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva (FOP). With FOP, bone forms in otherwise normal soft tissues of the body (e.g., muscle, ligaments, and cartilage). This extra bone immobilizes joints over time, and eventually forms what amounts to a second skeleton – without joints. While the speed with which this “second skeleton” forms varies from patient to patient, the formation itself takes on a typical progression, usually starting with the neck and shoulders and then progressing to the lower section of the body and limbs.
8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Bambi — part 2”

  1. Today was a rough day at work. So the way I decided to chill out was to catch up with my fave blogs- your blog is at the top of my list.
    Anyways, I love the bambi pics. I can’t believe you were that close to a deer and the lil fawn is just too precious,. This is the perfect pick-me-up after a stupid day, thank you!

  2. Terrific pictures!

    My parent’s place in cottage country had deer passing by regularly. One day my mother watched a deer come across the lawn. The cat was outside, sleeping in the grass, and the deer silently walked up right to her, and sniffed at her. The cat bolted upright, taken completely by surprise.

Comments

