I saw a baby groundhog

I see more things out of my kitchen window.

Yesterday I saw a baby groundhog in the woods, that Mark recently cleared of Honeysuckle, beside the perennial garden. This is the same place I saw the fawn a few days ago.

I think this is a baby for two reasons: it looked smaller than the other two I saw a few months ago, and it wasn’t very savvy. I opened the door and stepped out onto the deck to try to get a photo, and it didn’t run away. Unfortunately, Arthur came outside with me and knew something was up. He started sniffing around.

Here’s where the savvy part comes in. Instead of turning and running into the woods, which I have no doubt the adult groundhogs would have done, this cute little baby ran up the stone steps, straight for us, and dove through a hole in the latticework beside the steps and under our deck. He was goin’ home.

Now, Arthur has quick reflexes, but I don’t think his vision is 20/20. And he was a little slow on the uptake. By the time he figured out what was going on, that baby was past him and through the hole.

Drat! Foiled again.

But with the morning deer adventure, all and all, not a bad day for the little white dog.

Update 7:00 p.m.

He’s back!

15 thoughts on “I saw a baby groundhog”

  1. So adorable! I saw one up close once when I lived in New Hampshire. Was weeding my vegetable garden and thought I saw my cat coming up for a pet. Turned to pet her – and realized an ancient, snaggle-toothed groundhog was right beside me! Scared me witless. He must’ve weighed 18 pounds or more. He looked at me and I looked at him and we both ran – him up a tree, me up onto the deck.LOL!

Comments

