Self-Publishing Progress Report

Business in place. Working towards printed proof copy.

The paperwork’s in the mail. Fo my business LLC, anyway. The manuscript is still sitting on my desk, or on my daughter and graphic designer’s desk. I’ve made the final edits after receiving feedback from a copy editor and two friends.

Grote Ink, LLC is the imprint for publishing my books. I know I have an official registered company because yesterday in the mail I received a postcard addressed to “Current Business Owner or Grote Ink LLC.” It’s an add for a free credit card merchant account. They got the official word before I did, although I have received an e-mail.

I also received my EIN or Employer Identification Number as a PDF attached to an e-mail. I will need that number for my business and banking transactions.

I’m going to set up a company bank account and apply for a company credit card as soon as the paperwork arrives, which should be in the next few days.

If I had a company logo, I would include it in this post.

I need a company logo.

Note to self: Add to to-do list. Call my illustrator son and graphic designer daughter and see if I can wring one more favor out of them.

I decided to buy a block of ten ISBNs (International Standard Book Numbers) from Bowkers for $250. Every printed book that is sold needs an ISBN number. A separate number must be used for e-books, although it is my understanding that ISBNs are not yet required for e-books. After reading a lot about different PODs (print on demand companies) and the relative satisfaction levels of users, I wanted the freedom to be able to move my book from Createspace if I become unhappy there. I could get a free ISBN from Createspace, but that pretty much locks me into their service.

With ten ISBNs I can publish up to five books if I only do two formats: (soft cover and e-book). I have three other WIP (works in progress), so if I continue on this writing and self-publishing path, I will be able to use most, if not all, of the ISBNs I purchased.

I am focusing on getting the final manuscript to Createspace where I can request a printed copy to proof. I still need the cover design that my daughter is working on. I also need blurbs for the back cover. I have one, and am waiting on another. I also need to finalize a short synopsis. Additionally, I need to finalize the inside extra pages that I’ve mentioned before like the acknowledgements and copyright pages. Because I have written about family members and included photographs, I am working on obtaining release forms from several individuals. I don’t need those before I get my proof copy printed, but I will need them before I sell any books.

I am thinking about how to get book reviews. If you have any suggestions, I hope you will comment.

I would also like your input on my book synopsis. I posted an early draft of it in Successful Self-Publishing — Assignment 8. Below are the revisions after my workshop instructor’s input:

My sister Annie never outgrew the needs of an infant. She didn’t walk or talk. Our parents fed her, changed her clothes, and lifted her from her bed to her wheelchair and back  for her entire life. Although the doctors who initially diagnosed her predicted she’d have a life expectancy of eight years, Annie lived to be fifty-one years old.

Dancing in Heaven is an inspirational story about Annie’ s life, death, and her significance in the lives of those of us who loved her and others who were touched by her. This memoir provides a window into my family’ s life with a severely disabled member. But more importantly, Dancing in Heaven is a testimony to the basic intrinsic value of human life.

Thanks for your continued support with this venture.

Read more about the  Successful Self-Publishing Workshop.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

9 thoughts on “Self-Publishing Progress Report”

  1. I love your book synopsis and your entire post. You’re helping me to run through my check list of “To Do’s” and find items I have not yet completed. Thanks again for having the courage to self-publish. There are others benefiting from your hard work and tenacity.

  2. Maybe you could ask people who knew Annie to review the book? You mentioned she was quite popular in church . . . maybe the church could include a blurb in its weekly bulletin?

Comments

