The Birds of Voice of America Park

The Voice of America Park, where we walked yesterday morning, is listed as an Ohio Ornithological Society birding site. This site described the following birds of interest that you might see there in the summer: Bobolinks, Henslow’s sparrows, savannah sparrows, eastern meadowlarks, occasionally breeding sedge wrens. I was able to snap a few photos of birds there. Most I recognized, but the many varieties of sparrows are a little hard to track down. I accept any and all offers of help or corrections with the identification of these birds.

This little baby was sitting on the spouting of the park office when we arrived. He has brown on his head. I don’t know what kind of bird he is.

We walked around a small lake that was ringed with cattails on this side.

This was my first sighting of a red-winged blackbird.

Ducks are abundant in the reeds along the water’s edge. Sometimes they are alone and sometimes in groups of three or more.

As we walked by with Arthur, sometimes the ducks would waddle down the shallow bank and into the water.

I tried not to take it personally.

Here’s a better shot of a red-winged blackbird.

A bird, I think it is a robin, emphasizes that we are in an important bird area.

When we saw this bird from a distance, we thought it might be a brown-headed cowbird. But looking at it now, I don’t think so. It looks something like a sparrow, but it’s belly is dark. I’m going to have to figure this one out.

Here is the same unidentified bird in flight.

The red-winged blackbirds are abundant. They perch on the tops of things.

They are stunning in flight with their flash of red.

Unlike the red-wing blackbird that commands a post at the top of tree, this little bird hides among the stems of the thistles and wildflowers.I think it is some kind of sparrow. You might notice there is a black bird hiding here too.

This bird got its feathers ruffled. I know what that feels like.

When it smooths things out and turns around, I can confirm it is a robin.

These baby ducks are getting getting big.

Queen Anne’s Lace is one of my favorite wildflowers. It grows abundantly here.

There are also fields of thistle here, which I think the yellow finches like. In the background you can see the road that borders the park. Without the background drone of traffic, this park would be a true oasis of nature indeed. As it is, the cricket chorus and bird song provide a welcome distraction from the surrounding hustle and bustle.

I think these are a type of sparrow as well. They could be a thrush of some sort, perhaps.

Another bird I need to look up when I have the time.

See what I mean about these red-wing blackbirds? They’re everywhere.

I believe this is an American Goldfinch.

If you are faint of heart, you might not to look closely at this photo and just keep moving on. I didn’t realize it at the time when I was just trying to get a nice shot of the red-winged blackbird. I snapped a series of photos. Once I got them on my computer I could see what I really shot was a small little drama in nature where the dragonfly meets its end at the beak of a bird. I’ll spare you the rest.

On our way out of the park again, I was trying to capture the flight of what I believed to be swallows. They have a distinctive pointed shape. But they darted around so quickly, never landing, that I was unsuccessful. I did see this bright little cardinal, however.

And the baby bird is still here. I sure hope everything works out okay for this little guy.

For more bird photos, see my bird page under the wildlife tab above.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Go team Prevent Alzheimer’s  Thank you Lisa, for the catch phrase. If you are reading this and are clueless, see my last post Suggestions for prevention of Alzheimer’s.

This morning I walked for 35 minutes. I don’t know how far that was, but it was up and down hills, so I think it counted.

Yesterday I did not eat any desserts. No cookies, donuts, ice cream or anything else that is clearly not healthy. I did eat a plum and a salad. I really need to increase my intake of fruits and vegetables.

Let me know how you’re doing.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

30 thoughts on “The Birds of Voice of America Park”

  1. Loved the pictures. They are all lovely. I love to watch birds tho I am not very good at identification. I rely on my brother and nephew for that as they are avid birders. I have an awesome feeder my husband got me this year for my birthday that allows me to have tons of birds come all the time. And of course, I blogged about it!!! http://bethannchiles.com/2011/06/04/is-it-a-new-landmark-nope-a-new-birdfeeder/

    I am going to have to check out the West Chester area next visit to Ohio and see if we can spend some time in that great park! Thanks for sharing great pictures!!!

    1. I visited your site and love the photos, especially of the deer. It’s good to know about feeding them. I have heard that if you put a salt lick in the back of your yard, they leave your plants alone, I don’t know about bird feeders.

  2. In Miami Dade these wetlands are constantly being encroached upon as development continues westward into the Everglades. There are all kinds of laws and restrictions but the under the table $ flows and the construction continues. This is not a matter of mere habitat. The glades purify the water going into the several thousand square mile underground aquifer = water 10 million people.

    1. It’s sad, isn’t. I have a friend who I haven’t seen in years, but many years ago he was proactive in trying to save some of the wetlands here in Ohio. We don’t respect the habitat of our fellow creatures, but then as a species, we never respected the habitat of our fellow humans judging from the treatment of native Americans. It’s one of the saddest commentaries on human beings.

  3. I love the bird photos, and you have inspired me to go on a little bird hunt myself one of these days. (It can be part of Team Prevent Alzheimer’s). I wonder if the bird on the sign thinks he (or she) is a VIB (very important bird).

    About to head to the Y again for my daughter’s swim lesson and my next exercise adventure. Go Team!

  4. Great photos! I’m flying through blog spaces these days. I very much enjoyed flying through this one with all the beautiful birds. Trees and birds. Ah. Birds and trees. Ah. Thank you. Blessings to you, Christine…

    1. Me too, Carol Ann. A couple down days, or days required elsewhere and it’s easy to fall behind. I’m playing catch up right now. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  5. The first and last photos are of a house sparrow. The one with streaked breast and light eye stripe is a juvenile or possibly a female red-winged blackbird. The ducks with colorful patch are mallards. The 20th photo looks like a female house finch to me from the picture. The beak is definitely that of a finch. The male would have a red head and some more red above the tail. I’m not familiar with the three birds near the water. The dark cheek patch is a distinctive marking, though. You’ve got my curiosity going! Great pictures!

    1. Wow. I’m impressed. You’ve been doing this a while. I need to beef up on my bird ID facts. That’s going on my to-do list. Right after I finish rewriting my manuscript, design my website and get this memoir published. . .

      Thanks for helping with the identifications. I have a book, but I’m not really sure how to go about identifying the birds. There are a LOT of pictures of birds in this book.

  6. Now I know where all the red-winged blackbirds got to. Once the breeding season was over here, the birds seemed to have disappeared. They must have gone south. 😉

    You captured quite a few birds in some great photos. A very successful outing. 🙂

  7. I’ve been snapping pictures of birds that flock to our bird feeder on a regular basis, that is as long as we keep it filled. Yesterday I also took some photos of a small, red squirrel who’d climbed into the feeder, chasing the birds away. When I walked out onto the deck to snap close-ups, the squirrel just watched me as I approached. He wasn’t even fazed, it seemed. After a few minutes, I did chase him off so that the birds could come back, before the squirrel ate all the feed. I’ll be posting the photos soon.

    loved your photos…reminds me how lucky we are to be surrounded by such beauty. 🙂

    1. We get a lot of squirrels, too, when we feed the birds in the winter. It’s a constant battle. Sometimes we send our little white squirrel-chaser out to scare them away.

    1. It’s good to hear from you Marion. I hope things are going well for you. I read your posts as they come along. A little jealous. Sometimes I think I should down-size as well on the number of posts. Maybe later.

      1. Funny enough, writing less on my blog does not mean I write more on other things. I do have three blogs to maintain – and I do that with joy – but what I hoped for has not transpired yet: doing serious work on the book that is in my head and in start on my computer.
        Work at the university was so very busy and demanding and lots of stuff at home – like starting my own business – that it just isn’t happening.
        So don’t be jealous Christine 😉 There are simply not enough hours in a day haha. I don’t even find/make the time to read the blogs I’m following, including yours. My apologies for that. Alas quitting my day time job is not possible, now that would be something else LOL.
        Have a wonderful summer 🙂

  8. CHRISTINE!!! I’m so excited to tell you that I came to check out Team Alzheimer and I identified one of the birds in your post! It’s the female redwing blackbird, that I posted a pic of on Twitter yesterday (the one pic that has a solo bird, heavily brown streaked breast), the pic is right above the male redwing blackbird on the ground. I think the three birds in the pic above (that you say may be sparrows of some kind) are possibly also redwing females. I’m so excited because I spent about an hour yesterday searching the web to figure out the bird I’d taken a pic of! Now you probably think I’m off my rocker!

    1. No. I’m glad you spent the time so I don’t have to. . .That begs the question, what kind of friend am I? I’ll have to update my page when I can get to it. cm

Comments

