Weekly Photo Challenge: Broken

January 10, 2008

A couple of years back, all at once the electrical appliances stopped, and the soft hum that I never notice except for its absence, ceased. Soon after I heard a cacophony of sirens approaching closer and closer to our neighborhood and then stop nearby. I grabbed my camera, walked a few blocks to a main street, turned right and this is what I saw: a broken utility pole sitting relatively intact but off its base and several feet away. It must have been hit by a fast-moving car or truck.

Some days I feel like that. Hit by a fast-moving vehicle, knocked from my base, broken.

It is storming here, although mostly the day is gray with the unrelenting sound of thunder, which terrifies my little dog to no end. I know this because he peers at me from behind the recliner next to me. I suppose it is the safest place he can find in this room.

I woke up with a heavy heart for reasons difficult to discern. I much prefer to know why I feel bad, then I stand a chance at battling the dark foe. I have a couple of ideas about what burdens me, neither of which I can do much about.

Arthur and I are off to see my parents today. I hope the little dog doesn’t have a heart attack or nervous breakdown in the car as I drive under stormy thunder-filled skies. There’s no place to hide in the car. But neither can I leave him home alone and afraid. Sometimes our choices are not good.

I hope the skies are blue, and the sun is shining where you are today.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Broken”

  1. Hi Christine .. have a good weekend with your parents & I hope Arthur survives his trip – as you say he’d hate being left behind …

    It is very hot and muggy here in the UK .. but we’ll be complaining tomorrow the rain is coming .. just hope we get some here – the ground is desperate for it.

    Have a good weekend .. Hilary

  2. It was cloudy most of the day, but the Son was still shining. On days when the clouds match my mood, it is comforting to remember that Jesus said, “Lo, I stand at the door and knock.” Spending time with Him, immersed in His Word always brings comfort and peace. There is no storm that He can’t calm.

  3. A possible reason: as simple as the low barometric pressure of an approaching storm front. That can cause depression and low spirits (it itself technically is a low front, and may be a depression, funny how the terminology can coincide).
    Whatever it is, one thing you know: it will change. Sunday (or whenever) will come. You will return home. And your little dog will greet you ecstatically. There’s a happy thought for you!

  4. I was looking at your smiling face in the right sidebar as I read your post. The words didn’t quite gel with the picture I was seeing. I know you as the person in the picture, who always resonates positive energy. So it saddened me to hear of your heavy heart. I know that unless I walk in someone’s shoes, I cannot fully comprehend what it is you’re going through. I can only say that you and your family, and Arthur, are in my prayers…now…and always.

    huge hugs…hugmamma. 😉

  5. Thanks for all your good wishes. Having a family member who has Alzheimer’s and another one who is a full-time caregiver is a difficult thing. Sometimes it is hard for me to keep my spirits up.

    We’re all doing okay.

Comments

