A walk in the yellow woods on a blue sky October day

The harbor at Sharon Woods Park in Cincinnati, Ohio

I like to take walks in the woods in the fall. Mark and I usually made a trip to a nearby forest or park to enjoy the scents, sounds and color of fall at least once a year. In fact, one of the first things we ever did together was hike in the woods in late October of the year we met. I doubt he’ll be going with me this year because of the pain from his arthritic knees. I had to settle for Arthur as a companion. What Arthur lacks in conversational skills, he makes up for with enthusiasm.

Earlier in the week I tried to find a nice park to walk in close to our new home and basically struck out. So I brought Arthur back home and we walked in the neighborhood. Friday morning I asked Mark, great knower of all things geographic, where I might be able to walk in the woods and feel safe. He suggested Sharon Woods Park a short distance away.

I’m a great believer in using my resources, so I asked the guard at the booth when I entered the large park, where was a good place to walk my dog. He recommended the 2 plus mile path around the lake at the harbor.

Both Mark and the guard were right. Although I walked in solitude with Arthur most of the time, we passed enough individuals walking, or were passed by others jogging, that I felt secure. Most of the other people were far past their prime, however, and likely would not have been of any great assistance if we encountered a threat along the path like an escaped exotic animal perhaps.

I love the way the sun shines through the individual leaves lighting them up like colorful lamps.

These bright yellow flowers were a surprise along the way. I wondered if they were some kind of sunflower.

This bright red tree stood against the lake like a flame. From a distance I thought it was a burned-out, dying evergreen, but as I got closer I realized this was not the case. I don’t know what kind of tree it was, though. Do you?

The path wound through the woods beside the lake. The distance was marked every half mile by a white tile inserted in the middle of the path.

Arthur and I were not breaking any speed record, not due to any fault of Arthur’s who continued to strain against the leash, but because of my photo stops.

You can never truly capture the beauty of the woods in the fall with a photograph. The sweet scent of fallen leaves, the rustling sounds, and the movement of falling leaves is missing. Mostly these woods were yellow in color.

Every now and then a bright spot of red would appear.

I’m not sure, but this might be a problem ivy. It looks beautiful, though, with it’s red on.

If only there were more hours in a day, I would spend them here with a book.

I thought this photo looked a little impressionistic when I first saw it. Maybe a little photoshopping could help create something magical.

I saw the 2.0 mile sign after we were walking for an hour and I began to wonder whether the guard had said, 2.3 or 2.8 miles.

What a great design of nature to place these colorful spires beside a reflecting pool.

Doesn’t this look like someplace you’d like to be?


Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

33 thoughts on “A walk in the yellow woods on a blue sky October day”

  1. What a lovely place for a walk. If I could, I would join you there and we could walk together in companionable silence.

  2. Re: ivy. “Leaflets three, leave it be.” But from the photo it didn’t seem to have the dreaded formation. Leave it be is safest anyway — but poison ivy characteristically has the three leaves.
    Re: mysterious flame tree — shape of leaf is easiest identifier, so a closeup, if you get one, is a help.
    Lovely lovely photos, compensation for hubby not being there is that the camera takes starring role as companion!!!!
    “-)

    1. Trust me; I now know exactly what poison ivy looks like. Our woods are loaded with it.
      I was back for a walk, but didn’t nab a leaf. It will have to remain a mystery to me. πŸ™‚

  3. To answer your question: YES! It does look like someplace I’d like to be! It’s remarkable how many more deciduous trees you have in your woods than we do — I grew up going to the Ohio woods (with my grandmother) and I think I always measure all woods against them. Beautiful place!

  4. It sure does look like a place I’d like to be. Thanks for taking me along. Like Arthur, I can’t be chatty, but enthusiastic, nonetheless! The only thing missing with the path is the crunch of the leaves beneath our feet, but I won’t complain, there are other benefits to it being paved. Thanks for sharing the vibrant colors of fall with us. Those yellow flowers must be everywhere…they look like the ones I kept finding on our vacation.

  5. Thank you for the lovely photos. I love Fall for the colors and the scents also.

    To me it seems the sun is in the leaves….beaming from the inside out.

    Namaste….and wishing you happiness and health to you and your family _/|\_

      1. Not a lot of trees, but we do have a small forest nearby where we often walk. Especially on a sunny fall day it is so beautiful there πŸ™‚ Thanks for asking.
        I can almost see little Arthur bouncing ahead of you. Have much joy in your ‘wandering’ Christine!

Comments

