Weekly photo challenge: Windows

I was on the WWII tour of Europe with some of my daughter’s high school classmates, and a good friend of mine, Jan. Jan was making a point of visiting every cathedral we were near for a project she was doing. Otherwise I would have missed it.

We were in Paris, and had just visited, and been awestruck by the Cathedral of Notre Dame.

Cathedral of Notre Dame, Paris, rose window.

Then Jan said, “My sister told me there is another cathedral close by that she loved and that we shouldn’t missed.” So Jan led the way, and sure enough, a few blocks from Notre Dame, we came across the Sainte-Chapelle. When we stepped into the upper chappel I thought I had been transported to a magical, spirital place.

Sainte-Chapelle, Paris, France

I sat in one of the chairs that lined the walls, listened to very tinkling soft music that filled the space, and soaked in the light that shone through the colorful windows that gave the illusion of supporting the structure. “Supported by slender piers, the vaulted ceiling seems to float above magnificent stained-glass windows.” (http://www.discoverfrance.net/France/Cathedrals/Paris/Sainte-Chapelle.shtml)

Sainte-Chapelle, Paris, France

I’ve never since experienced anything like it.

Rose window at Sainte-Chapelle

21 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Windows”

  1. Sainte-Chapelle was definitely one of the highlights of the trip to Paris I took a few years back with my daughter! It is so non-descript going into the downstairs… so very very amazing upstairs. Thank you for posting such a lovely reminder of a wonderful trip!

    1. I wish I could have gotten better photographs of these. We didn’t have a lot of time, and I only had my little point and shoot camera. Fantastic place. I’ve never been anywhere like it.

Comments

