Something to Celebrate – a guest post at The Idiot Speaketh

Today it is my great honor to be a guest blogger at The Idiot Speaketh (otherwise known as Mark). When I first started reading Mark’s blog, he was in the middle of his virtual trip across the US and Canada on his stationary bike. I was enthralled by his energy, commitment, and creativity. His humorous blogs, admittedly 90% fiction at times, keep me smiling at the Idiot’s antics. What kind of a warped mind would think of doing that? I often wonder. Mark also blogs about entertainment in the 70’s and 80’s and has refreshed my memory on many of my favorite musicians, movies, and television shows. Mark also blogs about his disability due to a spinal surgery gone terribly wrong, and the resulting law suit. Well-worth reading. As I’ve gotten to know him better through his blogs and comments, I realize that even though at times I shake my head at the antics of the Idiot, there is a kind, gentle, and very support man behind the curtain.

I hope you’ll take a minute to read my guest post, Something to Celebrate, at The Idiot Speaketh. Then I hope you’ll click around a bit on Mark’s blog where he says, “I do this blog because I like to hopefully make people smile or laugh a little bit each day in these otherwise tough and depressing times.”

Thank you Mark.

The Idiot Speaketh (Mark) in front of the Empire State Building with his stationary bike.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

19 thoughts on “Something to Celebrate – a guest post at The Idiot Speaketh”

  1. I read your tribute to your sister and loved it, Christine. I’ve even subscribed to your blog, as I too am writing a memoir. Mine is about growing up in an organized crime family and subsequent struggle with bipolar disorder. I’m scheduled to guest post for Mark tomorrow. Looks like I’m in very fine company!
    Kathy

    1. I’m glad you liked it, Kathryn. Welcome to my blog. I have some familiarity with bipolar disorder as someone close to me has been diagnosed with it in the past. Have you read An Unquiet Mind?

      Looking forward to reading your guest post tomorrow.

  2. Christine,

    I read your lovely guest post yesterday, but didn’t get a chance to comment. Congrats on a wonderful post. I hope it attracts a few more readers to Dancing in Heaven.

      1. Excellent! It’s a great reminder (along the lines of Desiderata’s advice not to compare ourselves with others).

        The goal is never to be better than someone else . . . we need only strive to be better than our previous self. πŸ˜€

  3. Thanks for the great guest post and kind words Christine πŸ™‚ Just so everyone knows, I did not really pose with my bike outside the actual Empire State Building…. Ya gotta love the power of photo-shopping. I’m sure all those people on the sidewalk would have been staring at the idiot blocking the way with his stationary bike… πŸ™‚

Comments

