Movie Monday — A Tufted Titmouse and a Couple of Woodpeckers

A short video of visitors to our birdfeeder. In the order of their appearance:

Tufted Titmouse
(Don’t miss the squirrel running vertically up the tree in the background.)
Downy Woodpecker
Red-bellied Woodpecker

Tufted Titmouse

photo from AllAboutBirds.Org

The first birds you see in the above video are the Tufted Titmouses, or perhaps that should be Tufted Titmice. I love these little gray birds with the white belly edged in rust. It’s range is from the southern tip of Ontario south through the east U.S. to the Gulf states. It likes woodlands, shade trees, groves and feeders. (Peterson’s Field Guide to the Birds east of the Rockies, 1980)
Downy Woodpecker

photo from AllAboutBirds.Org

A little Downy Woodpecker likes the suet we hung from the feeder. In the video, this placid little bird steadily ate it’s breakfast while other birds came and went on the peanut feeder beside it. The Downy Woodpecker is like a small version of the Hairy Woodpecker. It’s range is Alaska and Canada to the south U.S. in the east. It likes forests, woodlots, river groves, orchards, and shade trees. (Peterson’s Field Guide to the Birds east of the Rockies, 1980)
Red-bellied Woodpecker

photo from AllAboutBirds.Org

I don’t know why the Red-bellied Woodpecker is called that. Its belly is actually white, and its neck (on both genders) and head (on the male only) are a bright red. The above video does not do this bird’s brilliant color justice. It is a fairly large bird, and as you can see in the video, the little Titmouse makes way for it at the feeder when it arrives. Unlike the little Downy Woodpecker that sits on the feeder for a period of time, the Red-bellied Woodpecker grabs a peanut, runs, and then returns for another. Its range is the south Great Lake area and south New England to the Gulf states. Its habitat is woodlands, groves, orchards and towns. (Peterson’s Field Guide to the Birds east of the Rockies, 1980)

My goal is to learn how to make good videos. As you can see, I need a bit of work. My new iLife-09 software, and my iMovie ’09 & iDVD ’09 for Dummies book might help. Don’t look for much improvement before January. I have Christmas on my mind. In fact I’m on my way to Amazon to shop for Cyber Monday deals.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

18 thoughts on “Movie Monday — A Tufted Titmouse and a Couple of Woodpeckers”

  1. How did you catch this video? Did you set up a tripod and leave it? Every time I try to get the birds at the feeder they fly away. 😦

    1. That’s funny. We have many of the same birds, I think.
      I really would like to learn a lot more about making movies. That’s why I’m trying to post a movie every week, to force myself to get used to it and to spend time learning more about not. (Not that I don’t already have enough time-consuming hobbies and occupations.)

    1. Yes. By all means. Get that bird feeder back up. You’ll probably see all kinds of new and interesting birds there that you can take photos of and show the rest of us.

  2. Since I moved from the woods to this little bayside community, I no longer attract titmice to the feeder–they just don’t like this area. Too much noise perhaps. I enjoyed looking at that beautiful bird. I still get the downy woodpeckers–they love suet, don’t they?

    1. So sorry about the titmice. I do love those little birds. I didn’t know they were particular. But now that I think about it, I never see them on my parents’ feeder.

      The suet is fun.

  3. The red-bellied woodpeckers actually have a reddish tinge to the underbelly. We have many of the same birds (and squirrels) and I do love those little titmice. I can’t wait for the dark-eyed juncos to arrive. Have you seen any yet?

    1. Hmm. I didn’t realize that about the red-bellied woodpeckers. I’ll have to try to look more closely, which really isn’t very easy to do.

      I don’t know if we have dark-eyed juncos. Going to look them up. We might be just a bit too far south. I don’t remember seeing them.

  4. The squirrel made me laugh. We don’t have squirrels near the house. The one we do have nearby (a black squirrel) lives back in the woods and he’s very skittish. I’ve been thinking of carrying some corn with me to see if I can entice him to stop being so afraid of me.

    1. We don’t have black squirrels here. I saw one at Niagra Falls and fell in love. These bold squirrels run along the railing on our deck because we have a birdfeeder there. I send Arthur out from time to time to chase them away. I only do it because I know he will never catch them. It is hilarious to see the squirrel running along the railing and Arthur chasing close behind on the deck floor. It’s a win-win situation. The squirrel gets away. Arthur gets some entertainment, and the birds get their food.

Comments

