Ogre Returns part 2 of 2 – or Music and the Web

I was going to simply post a Tuesday (under) two-minutes video of snapshots of my son painting freelance when he was in town for a gallery opening on December 3. I used iMovie on my Mac and was going to add a soundtrack. Then I went off on a tangent.

I’m probably not  allowed to use a soundtrack from a recorded artist on my slideshow on my published blog. I don’t have the required rights. This realization led to a whole series of other related (and not so related) thoughts and questions.

What exactly are my rights when I purchase a Trial by Fire CD by Journey produced in 1996? I know I am allowed to play it for myself. And probably play it at a party that I may have. But am I allowed to broadcast it across a sound system at a crowded arena where I host a party to a million people? Probably not. But I’m only guessing, because I really have no idea what my rights are when I purchase a CD.

I am more familiar with what I am allowed to do with the printed word, especially if I am writing something of a scholastic nature, like this post for example. I learned that for the purposes of my college papers, I could quote whatever I wanted from someone else as long as I credited the source. In fact, quoting from another preferably scholastic paper added credibility to my own arguments. What I don’t know is if I have the right to subsequently publish what I wrote that contained said quoted material. What if I put it on my blog? I think I am still okay, because authors like to have their words shared, unlike musicians. I am not permitted to include song lyrics in my published work without permission from the song writer.

I believe I am free to use song titles, however, which usually are made up of lyrics. So perhaps I could also slip a few short phrases under the radar if I really needed  to include lyrics in a story. Or I could try to track down the performing artist and seek permission. I’ve thought about doing that for a slide show I made about the Ohio River while I was in college. I set it to the music, “Old Man River” performed by Bee Adair. I have no idea who Bee Adair is, where he (or she for that matter) lives, and even if he or she is still alive. It’s a pretty cool little slide show with some great shots of the Ohio River and people working or relaxing on the river, but it really isn’t much to look at without the music.

What really confuses me is YouTube. I can embed any YouTube video on my blog that I want to. They make it easy for you to do. I don’t think they would encourage it if it wasn’t permitted. So I can put a YouTube video of Journey’s “Can’t Tame the Lion” on my blog. Can I put my own slide show with “Can’t Tame the Lion” playing in the background on YouTube as a video and then on my blog?

Truthfully, I really don’t know. Do you?

Here’s hoping I fly under the radar yet again.

You can hear the complete song track by Journey, “Can’t tame the lion” on YouTube. If you’d like to read more about Journey, Mark Pakulak at The Idiot Speaketh has a wonderful post with photographs of Journey in his Music Flashbacks series. No animals were injured in the production of this video.

The artist in the photos, my son Matthew, says he doesn’t know what he is drawing until he begins with the black lines when he does this type of work. He also says that this is more about the process than the final result and that small short lines and quick ink spots make for an interesting time-lapse video.

The editor of the video, yours truly, needs a little work as noted by the clumsy ending. I bought the iMovie and iDVD for Dummies book, but in light of the restrictions on music, I may either need to learn how to create my own music via Garage Band, (note to self, order Garage Band for Dummies), or give up this hobby in its infancy and go back to knitting.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

12 thoughts on “Ogre Returns part 2 of 2 – or Music and the Web”

  1. Great video, Christine. Fascinating to watch him paint in layers like that. Very different from working with watercolors.

    Copyright is a funny beast. Basically, it boils down to a question of “fair use.”

    If you invite a few people over for dinner . . . you can play anything you want. If you are going to have a party for a million people, don’t count on flying under the radar.

    Some of the youtube videos get taken down due to claims of copyright infringement by the artists. Others figure its free publicity as long as they are shown in a favorable light.

Comments

