Caught by the radar – on YouTube and copyright infringements

8:02 am Tuesday, Dec. 13

I uploaded the video I posted for Ogre Returns part 2 of 2 or Music on the Web using photos of Matthew painting freelance and a song clip from Journey’s “Can’t Tame the Lion.”

8:05 am Tuesday, Dec. 13

I received the following email from YouTube:

“Dear 57cmsmith,

Your video, Matt’s Slideshow Cinci Dec 2011, may have content that is owned or licensed by SME.

No action is required on your part; however, if you are interested in learning how this affects your video, please visit the Content ID Matches section of your account for more information.

Sincerely,
– The YouTube Team”

I immediately visited the link YouTube recommended finding the following:

“Copyright Info: Ogre Returns – Cinci Dec 2011

Your video, Ogre Returns – Cinci Dec 2011, may include content that is owned or administered by these entities:

  • Entity: SME Content Type: Sound Recording
What should I do?
No action is required on your part. Your video is still available worldwide. In some cases ads may appear next to your video.
What can I do about my video’s status?
Please note that the video’s status can change, if the policies chosen by the content owners change. You may want to check back periodically to see if you have new options available to you.
Under certain circumstances, you may dispute this copyright claim. These are:
  • if the content is mistakenly identified and is actually completely your original creation;
  • if you believe your use does not infringe copyright (e.g. it is fair use under US law);
  • if you are actually licensed by the owner to use this content.

I need more information. I want to learn more about the dispute process.

Please take a few minutes to visit our Help Center section on Policy and Copyright Guidelines, where you can learn more about copyright law and our Content Identification Service.”

I immediately visited the Help Center link YouTube recommended finding the following:

Icon

Content Owners

Icon

YouTube Users

Icon

Copyright Education

The first link for Content Owners provided information about how to file copyright notifications using YouTube’s “easy-to-use web form”; information on the content verification program for copyright holders who have an ongoing need to removed allegedly infringing content from YouTube; and information on YouTube’s content ID technology that “allows content owners to identify user-uploaded videos and audio comprised of their content, and choose what they want to happen when those videos are found: Make money from them. Get stats on them. Or block them from YouTube altogether.

As I was not the content owner, I didn’t dwell long here.

The link for YouTube Users had the following three choices:

Icon

What happened to my video?

Check here if your video was removed,
muted, blocked in some or all countries,
or is unexpectedly showing ads.

Icon

Why do I have a strike on
my account?

Icon

Why was my account
suspended?

I click on “What happened to my video?”

“Before reading about the options available to you, we first need to understand exactly what happened to your video. Was your video removed, muted, or blocked in some or all countries? Is it currently displaying advertisements?
If your video was MUTED, BLOCKED IN SOME OR ALL COUNTRIES, or is DISPLAYING ADVERTISEMENTS, YouTube’s Content ID system has identified copyright content in your video.

Content ID matches will appear next to the video on your “My Videos” page, and the video will also be listed on your “Content ID Matches” page.

You can see an example below:

If this happened, you do not currently have a copyright strike against your account.

What I did next:

Okay, I know I’m in violation of a copyright. I also know that probably the biggest repercussion is going to be getting my video yanked from YouTube, and getting a strike against me with YouTube. I imagine if I keep infringing on others’ copyrights on YouTube, eventually my account will be cancelled and I will have to get a new email address and start a new account if I wish to continue with my illegal activity.

I went back to the page for the video in question and noticed that someone had inserted both Journey’s name and links to where the song title could be purchased. I am now part of Journey’s advertising program, which is fine with me. I love Journey. I like them even better knowing how they opted to handle this. I hope people will buy their music.

What I learned from this experience:

1. I learned that, wow, that radar net is pretty good. I am not going to be able to infringe on others’ copyrights on YouTube unnoticed.

2. Probably many artists are willing to let you use their music as long as it is not done in a demeaning manner. This is what I would do if I were a famous musician. Free publicity.

Now what?

I’m wondering if I should upload and post my Ohio River slide show set to Old Man River as performed by Bee Adair. . .

16 thoughts on “Caught by the radar – on YouTube and copyright infringements”

  1. My hubby sometimes makes videos and posts to youtube…he learned early on to credit/link all music. I’ve never mnade a video myself, but I have posted some from youtube to my blog.

  2. So interesting! I’ve never posted something with music, but I’m glad to know your experience so I know how I should do things. (p.s. I love the new look of your blog! Beautiful photo for the header & I’m envious of the snow which is yet another black mark against blogger — NO SNOW, boo!)

    1. I’d love to do more with music, but unless I learn how to create my own, I’m stuck relying on others’ content ownership. 😦

      Thanks. This is my winter garb.

      Come on over to WordPress. Haha. (I can only imagine what a nightmare changing your URL might be.

    1. Well, I appreciate the need for copyrights, as a writer. And I respect other’s intellectual property, but I’d just like to be able to use music on my slide shows. . .

  3. Wow, this is enlightening. Who would have guessed? Thanks for the warning. I’ve never posted to youTube and have never made a video, but have wanted to learn. At least now I know to be careful. Great post, Christine.
    Kathy

    1. Well, nothing bad has happened yet, as a matter of fact, it could be a good thing. I might take it that it’s worth a try to see if someone is going to be good-natured about it and just link to their sales sites.

  4. This brings to mind a few queries-how does one copyright one’s poetry and fiction, or even visual art? Is there a good instuctional site? Someone told me that you just put copyright and date at end after your name? Sounds too Easy to me….anyone have any info or a link to such info? I’d really like to publish poems and art and get feedback, but am selfish enough to want credit for my work and to keep it as mine unless I choose to give it away freely…..

    1. I believe that what you are told is mostly correct. I have been told the same by professors in academia, and have read in self-publishing books that what you write is simply yours. If you want to have a legal standing if you are really worried about infringement, you can register your copyright with the government. I’m sure if you googled it you would find out how.

Comments

