There’s a rock in the middle of the road

There’s a rock in the middle of the road.
I saw it when I opened the curtains as the day dawned.
A big rock in the middle of the road.

The rock is familiar and reminds
me of the one that nestled in the grass beside the end of our drive,
that I see now is gone
leaving a curved smear of mud on the street behind.

How did my rock get in the middle of the road?

If it wasn’t raining I would go outside and get my rock out of
the middle of the road.
But raining it is.

It’s a boulder really.

I’ve tried to move it before
when a wayward truck bumped it out of place
– a few inches at most-
never to the middle of the road.

It wouldn’t budge.

I fear my neighbor might run over it.
It’s my rock. That I’ll admit.
And there’s evidence in the grass
by the end of the drive
to prove it.

But I didn’t put it in the middle of the road.

What am I going to do about the rock in the middle of the road?

It lies there without concern or regard.
Right in the middle of the road.

Perhaps it is having the time of its life on this little jaunt,
No longer stuck by the end of the drive.

Did a truck push you all the way out there? I want to ask.

Did you glide away in a torrential downpour?

Did a giant bird’s talons carry you away under the dark of night
with a full moon bright in the sky?

How did you get where you are?

And how long do you plan to stay?

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

27 thoughts on “There’s a rock in the middle of the road”

    1. If I were betting money, I would guess that a truck somehow moved it there when it was turning around in our drive. Or perhaps the truck just got it rolling and it rolled there on its own. It is a mystery.

    1. You’re giving me a lot of credit assuming that the mystery will be solved. Although, my newest theory after reading Lee’s comment, is that it might have something to do with the cemetery across the drive. That would be right up your alley, wouldn’t it?

    1. I wondered if it was you when I saw the first comment. Thanks for letting me know. What a wonderful surprise. Wait til I tell Mom. She reads my blog, but has yet to comment.

      I hope you can catch some of my posts about Dad and his Alzheimer’s. Let me know if you would like a link to them. Also, I have excerpts from the book I wrote about Annie in the tab above called Dancing in Heaven.

      I hope all is well with you. Mom keeps me updated.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I hope you’ll be back.

    1. I think it probably got nudged out by a truck. Technically it isn’t a road. It’s a private drive with three properties on it. It’s long and wider than a typical driveway. Our own driveway to our house runs off of it. So the only cars on it are ours, our neighbors’ and delivery type vehicles. Because the driveway ends at our neighbor’s house, there really isn’t a turnaround, so trucks often pull into the driveway to our house and back out to get turned around.

      I figured if I could see it from inside my house, surely drivers could see it. And I was right. As I was typing, I watched my neighbor slowly drive around it.

      I went out in the rain and managed to roll it to the side. It is really too heavy for me to lift or even push.

      All’s well.

    1. Thanks for stopping by. It was a busy fall, and I am anticipating a busy winter as my husband undergoes his double-knee replacement surgery. Looking forward to spring.

Comments

