Friday films — Let it snow and Two deer come a-grazing

When I opened the curtains in my study this morning I stood nearly face to face with two startled deer who were snacking on the evergreen bushes in our landscaping. I wonder if these are the two babies we’ve watched over last year, or the two from the year before, all grown up.

Yesterday as I sat at my desk in the study, I noticed outside the window what looked like someone had dumped a huge truck load of lint from the sky all at once. The rain had turned to snow in an instant. I’d never seen it do that before. It was a beautiful snowfall. I thought I’d share it with you in this 44 second video, in case you’re in a temperate climate missing the snow.(Motion-sickness alert.)

I know snow can cause people difficulties, but it is a beautiful and amazing wonder of nature.

35 thoughts on “Friday films — Let it snow and Two deer come a-grazing”

    1. It is very peaceful here, Lisa. I love it and feel very fortunate to live here for now. It will be sad when we leave, but then I’ve felt that way every time we moved with only one exception.

  1. Oooh, Christine. This all looks SO beautiful, but it also looks SO cold! We’re cold today in Harrisonburg, Virginia with a freezing wind, which I hope isn’t blowing on Sunday when we go up north a hundred miles to see my oldest grandson perform in a play. Jen and I rarely get out, sometimes lately not even to church on Sunday, so we really need this outing.

    You say promotion is discouraging on your book. I’ve discovered, too, that being an indie publisher does make promotion difficult. Though my memoir publisher doesn’t do a huge lot to promote, as is true with all publishers now, they still do some, and having them as a backup does help. I’ve read where one needs to get involved in groups and Kindle forums, but I haven’t yet taken the time to figure out how to do this. You have to do it in such a way that you don’t come across as promoting your stuff; you have to try to be a “friend” by getting involved in the discussions. I’ll let you know if I make any progress with this.

    Have a peaceful day in your home where you can gaze out at such peaceful scenes!

    1. I hope you get to go on your outing. I know how important that can be when you don’t get out much.

      I imagine having a publisher helps pretty much. I’ve read about the groups and forums, and have even tested the waters, but truthfully, it just doesn’t feel right to me. Maybe it is necessary, and maybe I’ll eat these words, but a lot of it seems like I’ll scratch your back if you scratch mine.

      Also, I don’t feel like my book really belongs there. I just don’t know that my target audience is the same. But maybe I have little to no choice.

      Mostly, I want people who could benefit from the book, or who would like to read it to have access to it. The problem is, if they don’t know about it, that won’t happen. So the challenge becomes letting the “right” people know about it. That may take time.

      Good luck. I’ll look forward to hearing how your promotional efforts are working out.

      1. Mom(aunt Judy) ordered your book today we can’t wait to read it we will probably fight over who reads it first.

    1. Hi Melinda,
      I didn’t recognize your last name and connect you before. Thanks so much for reading my blog. I hope all is going well for you. You’re in Florida with Aunt Judy? I’ll have to check in with Mom and see what she knows about the two of you.

      I hope you like the book. I look forward to hearing what you think.
      Christine.

      1. Yes I was in Daytona for a few years but just recently moved home with mom. It’s good for us both. Missing Dad a whole lot but thankful for Judy.

    1. Shall do!

      Yesterday, we went for a wander on the beach. Today, I’m headed to the island library to meet with an Alzheimer’s Support Group.

      I’m having a tough time dealing with my parent’s situation, as I’m sure you can appreciate.

      1. I can’t recall the particulars, Nancy. I don’t remember Alzheimer’s being in the picture. I do remember that they live at a distance, which I suspect makes it harder.

      2. Neither have “full blown” Alzheimer’s . . . but both are exhibiting cognitive issues. It is the distance that causes me the most pain.

        I want to “be there” for them . . . but I want “there” to be “here.” And they won’t move.

  2. I loved the videos. It reminded me of our house in Omaha with the deck, the snow & those dratted deer. Although after we got the dogs, they gave us a wide berth. Tell Arthur to get going – what does he think he’s supposed to be doing??

    1. I know the deer can be a nuisance, but I like them. They’re beautiful creatures even if they do take the blooms off my tulips, and morning glories.

      Arthur tries his best. We always know when there are deer outside, I can tell you that. And his barking does make them pause from gnawing on my evergreens and raise their heads.

  3. Hi Christine .. it does look soft gentle snow doesn’t it. How wonderful to see the deer back .. and then the scenescape – thankfully we’re in snow free land this year – enough was enough last year. It’s still relatively warm – though we had frost last night ..

    Enjoy the rest of the weekend .. Hilary

Comments

