The sun and the moon

I got up the other morning to find the sun and the moon in the sky. It reminded me of the novel I was trying to wade through for the Goodreads Book Addicts group I belong to. The book was 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami, and I was having a lot of trouble getting through it. I resorted to setting reading goals for myself, which on my Kindle amounted to percentages to read in a day.

In 1Q84 Murakami makes a reference back to the book 1984, which I never read, so maybe that was part of the problem. I think the bigger problem was that the story line moved at a snail’s pace and there was an over abundance of repetition. I found out from Amazon that the book was nearly 1000 pages long. Mr. Murakami did not need repetition. I might have liked it a lot better if it were half that length.

But there were a few interesting things in 1Q84, and one was the setting. The alternate time period that 1Q84 represented was set in a universe where there were two moons visible from earth.

Space and the universe is an awesome and scary thing if you take the time to really think about it. For example, in your mind try to journey to the end of the universe. Try to visualize where that is. This exercise can make the ground that you’re standing on shift. Very scary.

In a manner reminescent of Mr. Murakami, this was the long way around showing you two photos I took the other morning from the same location, just minutes, or even seconds apart, really.

The moon on the morning of January 15, 2012
The sun at the same time on the morning of January 15, 2012

If you would like to read the NY Times review of 1Q84, you can find it here.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

18 thoughts on “The sun and the moon”

    1. I know. It’s thinking about our position in space that sometimes knocks me off my feet. Stand outside and touch the sky. Imagine your little body attached to the planet by your feet, swinging through space as the earth rotates. All kind of scary to me.

  1. “This exercise can make the ground that you’re standing on shift. Very scary.”

    A good mind stretch will do that, won’t it? I’m going to try this in a quiet moment. 🙂 Love the moon photo, Christine!

  2. Watching the stars at night always feels peaceful to me. Getting way out in the country, away from city lights, seeing just how much is up there makes you feel small, and still connected to it all.

Comments

