Things that last a lifetime — and a book giveaway

I dreamed about Annie last night. We were in an old house, not old in a decrepit way necessarily, but old in a quaint way— the kind of house that has the wide dark woodwork, thick plaster walls and large doorways. Annie was lying on the floor. I noticed a long gray bug with wings crawling across the floor. Then I noticed another and another. Then seven and ten. I looked up and saw that one of the small square tiles in the ceiling was partially falling out exposing the empty space above.

All at once a swarm of these bugs poured out of that space the tile provided.

My first instinct was to flee, but then I remembered Annie. So I went back and picked her up and tried to barricade us in a room with a rug stuffed under the door.

Maybe some things last a lifetime.

If you haven’t already gotten a copy or read Dancing in Heaven, you might want to enter to win a free book at Goodreads on St. Patrick’s Day. Tell your friends.

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Dancing in Heaven by Christine M. Grote

Dancing in Heaven

by Christine M. Grote

Giveaway ends March 17, 2012.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter to win

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

17 thoughts on “Things that last a lifetime — and a book giveaway”

    1. The book giveaway is actually through Goodreads, so I really can’t enter anyone. People have to go to the link at Goodreads to enter. But thanks for buying my book. That was kind.

      I think the bravery regarding Annie was ingrained in all of us, as it likely would be for anyone in our situation.

  1. Always the protector! A role that you wore well with Annie and continue to wear in the care of your sweet father. It is who you are, Christine, and in your dream it showed that it is still a very big part of your life. Thanks for sharing your dream. My dream last night was not quite as compassionate. I dreamed I was nailing cooked chicken breasts to the walls…….a therapist would have a field day with that one! 🙂 Have a great day!

  2. I will always despise losing a loved one. I hate death. I just do. Your dream, like a recurring dream about my mother for a few years after her untimely demise from cancer, is probably a manifestation of the horrible reality you faced, watching Annie struggle while you were completely unable to save her. My dream was very different in detail, but I think you will notice a similarity. I dreamed my mother was flying overhead in a helicopter that was crashing. I couldn’t do anything to stop what was happening. I would wake up before the crash. I dreamed that same dream many times for a year or two.

    1. Well, I don’t think you’re alone in that, but there is an acceptance that I think we have to come to. There’s just no way around it.

      I’m sorry you had to experience the loss of your mother that way, and here you go again.

      They say God doesn’t give us more than we can handle. You must be very strong and brave.

  3. Your love for her does last a lifetime and beyond. Your children got to know her, you taught them to love her, and your book makes her even more real to everyone else.

    Nancy

    1. I’m glad I’m not alone with this. I had never dreamed of someone who had died before, at least that I can remember.

      It must have been very hard on you to lose a brother that way.

Comments

