Weekly photo challenge: Regret

Honey was our first family dog and only dog besides Arthur, if you can fully consider Arthur a dog. Honey was beautiful. People complimented her everywhere we took her.

In the spring of 2001 we finally broke down and decided to get a dog when the kids were getting older, I was busy running them around, and our youngest son was going to be left home alone more and more. We thought a dog would add a sense of security and companionship to our home.

When I called a local vet about dog breeds, the receptionist said, “You might want to come in and look at a rescue puppy we have here.”  So we went. Anna had always been intimidated by dogs since she had an unfortunate incident when she was young. But we thought a puppy wouldn’t be threatening. When we got to the vet’s and they took us to the outdoor run to show us Honey, Anna took a step back. And I was surprised myself. I was expecting a puppy. Honey, the name the staff had given her, looked like a full-grown dog to me. And she really was full-grown in size by then, but the vet estimated she was only about nine months old. One of their clients had found her lurking around the back of their yard by their shed. Later we found a couple of beebees imbedded in her back legs.

We were told Honey was given the name not only because of her color, but because of her disposition. With that kind of recommendation from experts, we knew we would be getting a sweet dog. We were right.

When she died eight years later, in the spring of 2009, from a spinal disc problem we were trying to treat, we were all devastated.

I regret she wasn’t able to be here with us in our new home where she would have had a large yard to roam, deer to watch, and plenty of squirrels to chase.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

21 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Regret”

      1. He goes to the vet here in Iowa on Monday…will know more then. He sure acts fine from all the running around but he still is breathing fast. May have to take more fluid off but I am hopeful!

  1. What a sweetie. Thanks, Christine, for sharing Honey’s story and photo. I adore dogs and know what you mean about Arthur, perhps, not really being a dog. I feel that way about both of mine.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. She was gorgeous, Christine. You can just tell she was sweet from this photo…the expression on her face and in her eyes.
    We had a great dog that died at eight as well. They become so much a part of the family. It’s awful when they pass on. But it’s worth that inevitable pain to enjoy their love and antics while we can.

    1. She was sweet. A very gentle dog. She died at home. She had been on cage rest in our family room and I left the door open for her. I heard her moving around and went to see what she was doing. She had gotten out of the cage and was trying to walk. She wasn’t able to use one of her hind legs. The foot had curled under. I’ve never experienced the fear that I did at that moment. I followed her as she hobbled to our living room where she liked to lie and I told her to lie down. She sort of just dropped to the ground. I had an appointment for her at the vets because even though we were following his orders, I was afraid she was getting worse. Mark was home cutting the grass. I sat in the living room with her and she started having seizures and throwing up. I ran to yell for Mark and got some towels so she wouldn’t have to lie in the wet stuff. When Mark got in the house with us, she had one big seizure and died. It was awful.

      It still makes me cry to think about it.
      I didn’t want a dog because I knew we would likely outlive it. And I wasn’t sure I wanted another one after Honey. But the house was so empty.

      I think you’re right. They’re worth the inevitable pain. It’s symbolic of life, really.

  3. I can well imagine Honey’s sweet temperament — she looks wonderful! And it also sounds like she was your “soul-dog” as I’ve come to call our dog Abby, too. She will be 10 next month, and I dread the regret I know I’ll feel forever after she leaves us.

    1. I know. I held off getting a dog for a lot of years because I knew the end of that story. But as Cynthia so well expressed it, they’re worth the inevitable pain.

  4. Aww…that’s a cute dog! It’s a shame she couldn’t see the new house, but still, I bet she had a great life nevertheless 🙂

  5. Don’t regret, Christine. You had wonderful years with Honey, you gave her a safe and happy home for all those years and you can bet Honey had no regrets at all. Thank you for loving a shelter pet. These dogs break our hearts, we get them knowing that they will, just bask in the time you have with them. You are right, it is like all of life, really.

  6. Dogs (and other pets) really make an imprint on our hearts. Thanks for sharing Honey with us. And thanks for taking care of her after the rough start she had in life. She would have been happy wherever you were. They’re just like that.

Comments

