The Tufted Titmouse

Tufted titmouse - 01/14/2012

This little guy is one of my favorite birds. The first time I noticed one I thought it was some kind of small cardinal, primarily because of the shape of its head with the tuft on top.

The tufted titmouse is a soft gray color with a white belly that has a touch of rust right under its wings. The adult has a black mark right above its beak. It is a member of the Titmouse family which also includes variations of the chickadee. According to Peterson’s Field Guide to the Birds East of the Rockies, members of this family are “acrobatic when feeding” and the “sexes are usually alike.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

For more bird photos, see my bird page under the wildlife tab above.

37 thoughts on “The Tufted Titmouse”

  1. how beautiful!! You are so lucky to have all the wildlife around you!! We are just now seeing our first cardinal since we moved out here 8 yrs ago!! our cornfield is looking more and more like a home every year. We have 150 more evergreens on order for this Spring. As always, thanks for sharing and have a great day Christine!!

    1. I feel lucky to be here surrounded by nature. I suppose it takes a while to see the fruits of your labors when you have such a big place. 150 trees. Wow. Will you plant them yourselves or have someone do it? That should help a lot with your bird friends.

      And thank you for reading. One of these days I’ll have to get out to your farm and post about it. I would love that.

    1. Thanks, Susan. Good luck on Tuesday. Find out ahead of time if you are able to stay at the hospital with him if he has to stay. I didn’t realize I could and hadn’t planned for it. I wish I had.

    1. Thanks, Julia. I take a million photos and then sort through for the best ones. I wish I could get more pictures in the natural habitat away from the feeders, but the feeders make it so easy.

    1. How fun. I’m glad you were able to see an old friend. It’s tough keeping up with all this blogging stuff. No problem. I have no expectations, but I do enjoy seeing your comments, and reading your posts.

    1. Thanks. We used to have a hawthorn tree here, but it was all tangled up in the honeysuckle plants that run rampant in this area of the country. Out it came, when my husband evicted all the honeysuckle plants in that area of our yard.

      These little guys are attracted to the bird feeders.

Comments

