Cardinals – The Ohio state bird

The northern cardinal is a member of the finch family.

The male of this distinctive bird is easy to spot winter, spring, summer or fall.

The female with her muted colors is not as strikingly obvious.

I love seeing cardinals in a snow-covered landscape.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For more bird photos, see my bird page under the wildlife tab above.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

45 thoughts on “Cardinals – The Ohio state bird”

    1. Thank you for the kind words. I’m an amateur photographer. I took a few classes in college. But I love doing it.

      The cardinal is stunning. Hard to resist with a camera.

  1. Beautiful! I love the bright color contrast of these photos with the bright color of the birds against a leafy or snowy background. I’ve been seeing a rather odd bird lately — it looks exactly like a male cardinal but its head is white. Perhaps an albino version of the cardinal?

    1. You know I never thought of that. Don’t be surprised if you see that in your mailbox next December.

      FP is a real kick. Right when you’re wondering if you should keep spending all the time processing photos, writing blogs, reading and commenting on others—BAM. You get hit by the lightening bolt of FP. It is fun. But kind of hectic. My inbox may never recover.

      1. That’s how I felt, too, especially the first time. It was shortly after I had started my blog and I was checking my stats obsessively. I had gone to Dayton to my parents, and wanted to show my mom, and all of a sudden I had 100 hits, which was a ton for me at the time. Then it was 500. Then 1000. I was in shock and awe. Ha ha. It’s fun. It’s still keeping me busy today.

    1. I don’t know if you are serious about wanting one, but I will gladly send you a jpg that you can print out. Just let me know.

      I’m glad you liked them. We see a lot of cardinals around here.

  2. Gorgeous! I never realized how much I missed seeing those striking red cardnials until I was back in Illinois for Christmas this year. I haven’t seen any Cardnials in Colorado. We have beautiful blue birds though. Thanks for sharing these photos.

    1. I was going to say, I bet you have some fantastic birds out there. Not to mention scenic views. Something about the birds we grew up with, though, isn’t there? Thanks for stopping by.

  3. So many red cardinals. What a sign of …good luck! I miss them. In Alberta I don’t see them. When I lived in Ontario, I saw them often enough.

    We have the showy, bigger magpie bird here.

    1. Does it really mean good luck? I saw a red fox once. I hoped that meant some kind of good luck. Just the fact that I was able to get its picture was good luck I suppose. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen a magpie.

  4. Amazing photos — love them!! I didn’t know the cardinal was Ohio’s state bird; in Maine we have the chickadee as our state bird. I love the photo of the six cardinals together, gorgeous!

    1. Thanks, Julia. You learn something everyday. I love the chickadee. A little one here was checking out one of our birdhouses yesterday, but I was too slow on getting to my camera to capture it.

Comments

