Wild for wildflowers

Wildflowers are enchanting. I love driving along the road and being surprised by a field of flowers. In Germany as we zoomed along   in a bus from Berlin to Munich, the road passed through field after field of red poppies. Closer to home in rural areas I sometimes see a colorful sea of lavender or yellow. I love the Queen Anne’s Lace that I’ve see when I walk at VOA. Wildflowers are God’s or Mother Nature’s or the Universe’s way of decorating this planet. And they’re a thrill to behold knowing, in most cases, they were not planted by a human hand.

These, however, are not wildflowers. These were planted by previous owners near the stone patio at the foot of our back hill. I found out last year they are called Solomon’s Seal. As you can see by the weeds, this is not a high priority gardening area for us.

But the airy white flowers behind the Solomon’s Seal are wildflowers.

They line the edge of the woods and curve around the stone patio.

These yellow wildflowers are sprouting up everywhere in my woodland garden and make little bright spots in the distance.

I planted some irises I had to divide last year up in the woodland garden. I was worried about not enough sun exposure, but they are doing fine.

The yellow flower is a Golden Ragwort (also found out last year). Doesn’t it look like a charming miniature yellow daisy?

My woodland gnome plays among the wildflowers.

The woods at the bottom of the St. Francis garden are abloom with yellow, white, and orange. Since I haven’t seen this orange anywhere else, I think it may be one of the few seeds that sprouted from a bag of wildflower seeds I threw out there last year. I have another bag I’m going to try again this year. It’s pretty heavy shade there, so I don’t have a lot of hope.

I don’t know what the orange flowers are called. Perhaps another kind reader will inform me. Do you know?

All this thought about wildflowers makes me think about the flowers we cultivate and buy in garden stores. I think it may be true to say they were all, or at least came from, a wildflower at some point. Just another fascinating observation about Creation.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

20 thoughts on “Wild for wildflowers”

  1. Your gardens never fail to impress and amaze me. WOW!! (yes, jealous, very… we have mostly weeds right now!) As for identifying the wildflower, have you checked out uswildflowers.com? It’s got photos and descriptions and everything!

  2. Thanks for sharing your wildflowers. I left a few “volunteers” in one of the beds this year, the yellow flowers are a nice contrast to the purples in it.

    1. I have a hard time pulling them out of flower beds too, although Mark drew the line at the top of our Angel Garden and yanked several of the tall yellow ones from there. They’re still providing nice cheery spots of color in the Woodland.

  3. I like seeing them when I’m out on a hike in the spring; the trilliums I’ve mentioned start up first, and give a white look to a dull spring forest floor that hasn’t really started sprouting anything else yet. By the time they’re gone, new growth will be well underway.

    1. I looked it up. I think I may have actually seen them in a garden store. The name is very familiar, although I don’t think I’ve seen any in our woods.

Comments

