A windy morning at the VOA

The wind is brisk. It chills the early May morning air and bends the tall grasses bordering dense fields of lavender clover.

Ducks are slow to wake

at water’s edge.

But the geese are ready to start the day.

A little house sparrow already hunts for food.

And an American Coot is out on the water.

Nature’s garden paints a picture in lavenders, white, and yellows.

A robin turns her head to watch me pass.

Another finds a worm.

While red-winged blackbirds

guard the fields

from tops of trees

and stems.

A juvenile learns his trade.

High in the sky birds chases a hawk

Eventually driving it to the ground.

The wind flips leaves on a young oak tree, bends the reeds, and ripples the water.

Geese with their goslings head for the water.

A robin scavenges a dried, stiff worm from the walk, keeping her eyes on the little white dog

who merely watches.

The man and the dog both stand and watch.

The dog-walker making it possible for me to share this walk with you.

 

Photos taken at the Voice of America Park – Butler County, Ohio

27 thoughts on “A windy morning at the VOA”

    1. He is a cutie. A little undisciplined at times, but cute. He’s getting a hair cut today. He will look altogether different when he comes home.

    1. Yes. I love to be outside, but I’m ashamed to say that I am truly a fine-weather friend. Too cold or too hot and you can count on me staying inside the comfort of home.

    1. Thanks, Candace. I tried to click on your avatar to get to your website, but it didn’t work. Truthfully, I have already been nominated recently by someone else, but have yet to accept the award. So I probably will decline. But thank you very much for the thought. Can you post your web address here so I can visit your site?

      1. Thanks. I visited you there. Did you know that you can add a link to your website on your Avatar? You have to visit the Avatar site and edit your profile. Then whenever you comment, someone can click on your picture and go to your blog. It took me a while to figure that out for myself.

  1. Lovely pictures, Christine—but I have to admit that Arthur takes the “cutest picture award” right above “faithful dog walker” as my favorite!!! Thanks for sharing!

    1. I wish you did too, although my photography teacher says you can take excellent pictures with small point and shoot cameras or even cell phones. The zoom lens makes a huge difference, though.

  2. I love red-winged black birds. The other images you captured are just as beautiful. Thank you for sharing!

    1. Thanks for stopping by Jolina. I heard from one of my readers, William, that red-winged blackbirds can be pretty threatening if you get near their nests. Then my husband told me he was attacked by one once. That’s never happened to me.

      1. Oh, my! I never knew that. Will have to keep it in mind the next time I come upon one.

Comments

