Now blooming

One of the things I love about perennials, and there are many, is that it’s a constantly changing picture. Annuals are nice because you have a guaranteed wave of color throughout the season, but they are predictable. Perennials surprise you with their comings and goings. I love that about them.

These white spikes are at the bottom of our yard near the stone patio. I don’t yet know what they are, even though I did a brief search online this morning. Anybody recognize them?

Out back we have six flower boxes on our deck railing. Last year I planted petunias, this year I went for geraniums. These are actually an apricot color, although they look a little red to me in this photo on my computer screen; I just got a new computer and I’m not sure if the color settings are right. (I’m also not sure how to fix it if they’re not. Just another thing to learn. . .) I really liked the vining cream/yellowish flowers that I disregarded the name of.  When we first planted them, they were very scraggly and I thought I had made a mistake. Now that they are filling out, I really love them. Feel free to enlighten me if you know the name.

I planted three little pincushion flowers this year. They require a lot of dead-heading and I haven’t been the best at that this year. The ivy takes so much of our time. A butterfly bush I planted last year, or the year before, arches above with it’s deep lavender blooms. And up in the top left corner of this photo, the  moonbeam coreopsis are thinking about blooming. I’ve seen a lot of these blooming in other yards around here, and I’m not sure why ours are slow. We’ve had a bit of trouble with them from the start. They are easily trampled where they are, especially in the early spring when we forget they’re there.

The daisies are in full bloom and will stay that way for a little while. These are the same daisies we planted at Annie’s gravesite a couple of years ago. I hope to take my mother up to Piqua to see them while they’re still in bloom.

Last month I pruned back the knock-out roses and trimmed away the brown-spotted foilage. They are blooming nicely now. I don’t have confidence it will last. Even supposedly “carefree” roses, apparently aren’t carefree. If you look closely you will see holes in many of the leaves where insects are snacking. I used to spray my roses, but don’t like to do that and don’t intend to do it anymore.

The daylilies are all blooming now, although the gold and yellow ones I showed you last month have faded out and are forming seeds. I always thought the stella doras were supposed to bloom all season. I can’t remember if they came back last year and bloomed again or not. There are too many to even think about dead-heading.

These are more like the old-fashioned orange ones that only bloom once, but make a spectacular show when they do.

As are these. They’re looking a little ragged around the edges. It’s been a rough year for them.

I showed you the early bloom of the oakleaf hydrangeas last time. They are in full bloom now. I never fully appreciated them until we moved here and have a nice display of seven or eight bushes along the edge of the woodland garden.

These are more of a vanilla compact daylily that I think may be of the stella dora variety, but I need to research that to be sure. They, too, are looking a little dog-eared and I hope they will bounce back when they’re in full bloom. We have two large sections of these in the angel garden. But we uprooted all the plants in one section last year to eradicate the ivy that was running underneath and intertwined between all the roots. So maybe they need some time to readjust and recover from the surgery.

This is a second, lighter in color, butterfly bush we planted at the top of the angel garden, or on the edge of the woodland, however you prefer to look at it. It is a little bit scrawny and I hope will fill out with time. I maybe need to get out there, heat or not, and fertilize some of these plants. I hate the heat. I could set an alarm and get up at 6:00 am. We’ll see.

How is your garden growing?

23 thoughts on “Now blooming”

  1. Beautiful photos; love your garden, Christine! We’ve been hard at work, finished planting the main veggie garden, but more to do in other places–always more to do! I love reading your blog about it because you make it look easy! (I hate the heat too, just finished the gardening for the day from 7 to 9!)

    1. You’re so good. I really need to get motivated, and get up out of bed and outside early. I’m slacking off here—a little down over the last couple of days about my dad, I think. In need to regroup.

      If I video-taped my work in the garden it would dispel all notions of “easy.”

  2. What a lovely tour! Thanks for sharing your garden (which includes not just the flowers, but the relationship you have with them:)

    I don’t know the names of any of the blooms you’re asking about. But sometimes, I just am content not knowing……….

    1. Yeh, I don’t know. I have some astilbe that look quite different than these, but perhaps they are a different variety. I’ll have to do some looking around. Thanks for weighing in.

  3. Great photos, Christine ! I admire you for your commitment and consistency in writing each day and so beautifully documenting the things that are lovely in life and make life worth living.
    You are an inspiration.

    Yesterday, Katie and I were talking and suddenly she said ~ “Mom, write your book, you’re story is amazing”. I got onto my computer and opened the folder I had created about 5 years ago entitled “Autobiography”. Inside I found one 3 page document and a couple of others that had just a paragraph or so written. I began to write an outline ~ which took me longer than I expected it to. Later, in the evening I sat down and wrote a few paragraphs for my section entitled “WHAT IS GOING ON HERE?”

    I’m excited to pick up this project again ~ and also a little overwhelmed at that thought of truly committing to it. Mostly, I want to share my story in hopes that it may help someone on their spiritual path.

    1. I think that’s very exciting. My advice would be keep your chapters in different word docs at first. It makes it easier to manage things.

      I’m, of course, completely supportive about writing a book. Let me know if I can help in any way.

      I’ve started working on Dad’s story more regularly, but it is touch and go. . .it brings him back to life and is very difficult to deal with at times. I’m in a rough stage with the whole thing, his illness, what happens to Mom, etc. right now and hope I pass through this stage soon.

      Thinking of you.

  4. I love seeing everything in bloom. The daisies are probably my favorite. There are several bunches in my neighbor’s yard, and she moved back up north, so I will admire hers. Don’t know why I’ve never added them, but I think I will.

  5. The garden looks great, Christine! The white flowers look like loosestrife–definitely not astilbe. Do you find that everything is blooming a tad too early?

    1. Maybe. We used to have purple loosestrife at our old house and I would like to have some here. It was more of a busy plant. I looked up white loosestrife, and I’m not sure the leaves are right.

      I do think everything has bloomed a bit early, and with the intense heat we’ve had, it has not been our best year for blooms.

  6. The garden looks lovely!

    I’d be hopeless trying to identify plants and such… I keep meaning to check out the type of tree that’s all around my area, that’s just finishing up a blossoming time. Along with the leaves, it sprouts clusters of white blossoms that are starting to fade now…

    1. I’m terrible at trees, although I am learning. There are so many varieties of plants it’s hard to keep track. If I’ve grown them, I usually remember them. But it is really hard to sift through all the online stuff to find what you’re looking for.

  7. Your gardens look lovely. Our vegetable garden is finally producing lettuces and onions. There is hope for July and August. Beautiful photos!

    1. Mark is pretty much in charge of the vegetable gardens. I’ve always preferred flowers. We’ve eaten some lettuce and tomatoes and beans. I don’t think he planted any onions. His plot is quite small. He’s growing cucumbers, zuchini, green beans, watermelon, tomatoes, pumpkins, sugar melons, jalapeno peppers, green peppers, broccoli and cauliflower. Quite an ambitious undertaking, especially considering the space. Enjoy your fresh produce.

Comments

