The balloon-glow lights up the night with color

I thought you might like to listen to the music I was listening to when I was making this post, as you read it. It’s up to you.

Last weekend the annual midwest balloon fest was held in Middletown, Ohio, just a short drive up the road from us. We’d never been before and I wanted to go see the “Balloon-glow.”

We got there on Saturday night at 8:00 pm, just as the skydivers were making their jump.

Now, I haven’t been all that patriotic lately with the way our country has become divided among party lines.

But this felt like a “God bless America” kind of moment.

It was a comfortable evening and the festival was well-attended. Most folks came well-prepared for the night’s festivities of the skydivers, balloon-glow, lazer show, and fireworks. Had those two empty red chairs been ours, we might have stayed for the entire schedule of events. But, no.

As we drove in (after we had paid), the parking attendants told us the balloon lift for that night had been cancelled because of 30mph winds. No one seemed to know for certain whether there would still be a balloon glow.

Some of the pilots lined their baskets up and allowed people to come up and ask questions.

Every now and then they would burn the flame for kicks. I was hoping I was going to get to see more than this after the 30 minute drive and $20 ticket (for the two of us), even if I did get a funnel cake out of the deal.

Then we noticed a couple of vans arrive with crews who pulled out baskets.

And yes! Balloons. Dragging that bag of balloon looks like hard work, doesn’t it?

The balloons started to come alive with a ghostly movement,

as the teams struggled to inflate them and keep them upright in less than ideal conditions.

It was magical seeing the balloons rise,

glowing together on the announcer’s count of three,

lighting up the night with color.

I think in years past, they might have lifted off the ground at night. That would be something to see.

Maybe next year.

And maybe we’ll remember the chairs.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

24 thoughts on “The balloon-glow lights up the night with color”

    1. It seemed like a lot of fun. We were only there for a short while. I hope to go back next year.

      I like to have music with my photos, but I always worry about making a video using a soundtrack that I don’t have rights to, so I thought I’d try it this way. Thanks for checking it out.

    1. I’m amazed at how many people said they always wanted to go up in a balloon. I wish I wasn’t afraid of heights and would want to go up in a balloon. My mom bought my dad a trip once as a gift. He thoroughly enjoyed it.

  1. Lovely photos! I saw a festival like this when I was a little girl. I will never forget it. I definitely want to take a hot air balloon ride one day; I am sure Adelaide would love it, too. It must be magic!

    1. It probably would be magic, but like I said, above, I wish I wasn’t afraid of heights. For me it seems like terror. Ferris Wheels used to set me into a panic. Not enjoyable at all.

  2. Beautiful photo’s and what a lovely evening, I have only ever been up in a tethered balloon, and not that high.. but its something Ive always wanted to do.. Thank you for sharing this wonderful event with us Christine…
    Sue xox

    1. You’re welcome. The tethered balloon was probably a cool experience. You can buy trips in hot air balloons here. My mom got one for my dad. He loved it.

  3. Isn’t that the coolest thing? I’m going to miss the balloon glow (and the dawn race) this year (I’ll be doing the Color Run in Columbus instead). Wonderful photos, and now I don’t feel as though I’ve completely missed out. 🙂

    1. I’m going to try to get it on my calendar for next year. We see the balloons flying in the evening around here at times. It’s always a thrill. Good luck on your run. Where is it exactly?

      1. It’s part of the Jazz & Rib Fest in Columbus. I’ll probably walk more than run. My pre-race (not sure why they call it a race) packet states that it’s the Happiest 5k on the planet. Or something like that. It will be messy, that’s for sure (they throw color at the participants who are required to start with a white shirt).

Comments

