Bring on the Annuals — a garden update

I love my perennials, but this time of year, I’m grateful for the color a few well-placed annuals provide in my largely dried and burned-out gardens.

Pink Moonbeam Coreopsis

Of course I still have a few perennials blooming. These little moonbeam coreopsis make a splash of color in my St. Francis Garden. And the knockout roses are doing okay, although I pruned a lot of spent blooms off yesterday.

Sedum

The sedum is starting to pink-up, but I feel like it is a bit early for that. It seems like the perennials are all trying to rush through the summer.

I like to put a few annuals here and there in my gardens, like these white and vanilla petunias, although truthfully, they’re not doing all that well this year with the drought.

And I put this Mandevilla in the Angel Garden. I want to believe that the heart-shaped leaves climbing alongside are from the Moon Flower seeds I planted earlier this summer. Mark thinks they’re a weed. I guess we’ll see.

And rather than invest in perennials this year, we decided to plant a few vanilla marigolds in the now-ivy-free far side of the garden. The last few daisies are still blooming. I’ll probably cut most of them off to bring them inside for weekend guests. Check out the new grass in front of that section. If you forgot how it looked before, you can see it here. Mark did a terrific job,

even with deer tromping through the newly planted grass in soft soil.

This year our container plants are doing well, probably because we’re Mark’s making an extra effort to keep them watered. Usually I’m not that good with containers. These impatiens hang just above the wooded area in the bottom section of our St. Francis Garden.

This cheerful verbena container greets people near the side door.

We have six deck boxes. This year we tried out sweet potato vine for the first time. It is a vigorous and beautiful plant. It’s doing better than the geraniums we put in the middle. I don’t recall the name of the vine on the right, but I just loved it when I saw it in the garden store. It has a little wild look to it with small white flowers.

We added a few more pots to our deck this year to create more of a garden-feel. The two plants on the far end are Luna Hibiscus. They have a huge pink blossom, but aren’t blooming at the moment.

They do have quite a few buds, though, if you look closely. I’ll try to remember to get a photo when they bloom again.

The Mandevilla, like the one in the Angel Garden, likes it’s container, trellis, and location on our sunny deck.

The sweet potato vine is taking over this container, and crowding out the geranium and verbena. I don’t mind too much. I like the how lush it looks.

A spider has created a work of art here between the box and the Mandevilla. I’m making a conscious effort to get over my spider phobia. Not sure how successful I’ll be.

What outdoor container garden would be complete without a few herbs like rosemary, thyme, oregano, chives, parsley and basil? I think these are looking a little anemic myself. Everything probably needs a dose of Miracle-Gro.

I like the color of the annuals, and appreciate the way they do the bulk of the work in late summer. But I also love the wildflowers that pop up willy-nilly in the wooded sections of our gardens. They don’t care if I water them or not.

This little chipmunk seems to admire my wildflowers too. He’s got a front-row seat.

And look who I caught snacking on the wildflowers. Can’t say as I blame her. They look tender and sweet. I read that deer don’t have the ability to chew tough foods, so they will eat the new, tender shoots of almost any plant.

Do you have any luck with container gardens? Any tips or secrets you’d like to share?

18 thoughts on “Bring on the Annuals — a garden update”

  1. Oh, Christine, you garden is looking lovely. I added annuals to ours a month or so ago–purple petunias, some zinnias, a few impatiens in the shade. I love that you have geraniums, as well. i sometimes forget about them, but my mother plants them every year.
    Hope you enjoy your garden this weekend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy
    PS Hope I’ve spelled flower names correctly I, all-too-often, don’t.

  2. I don’t have any zinnias this year. I usually plant them from seed. They make great cutting flowers. I just didn’t have a good place for them this year. I need to cull out a section in the sun somewhere for a cutting garden.

    Geraniums are nice because they don’t mind a bit of neglect with the water. They like it hot and dry.

    1. Thanks, Marty. I’ve grown moonflowers before, so I was pretty sure they are. Although I took another close look yesterday, and it may be that Mark and I are both right.

  3. Annuals. I thought this would be about high school yearbooks. How dopey we looked in 1967. From that graduating class of North Miami, however, four did not return from Vietnam.

    1. Well, it is beautiful and I enjoy the gardens very much, but never forget that they are a LOT of work. Perhaps a few well-pottted plants would suffice.

  4. Your garden looks lovely. Annuals always give the garden a pop when the perennials are in transition. I find that with this heat some of my shade perennials are looking a bit crispy. An interesting year for the garden with all this uncommon weather.

    1. I think container gardens are lovely. I’ve just never been very good at keeping up with them. You have to be vigilant with the water. Perennials are a bit more forgiving. We get along fine.

  5. My landlady’s garden is still managing, but largely because we’re still watering through the drought. The city’s urging- within reasonable bounds- to keep lawns and gardens watered for now, to hold off grassfires.

    Always fascinating to see deer!

    1. Are you helping your landlady water? It’s the only way to keep plants alive. That’s kind of scary about grassfires. I hope that doesn’t happen.

      Yes. I always love the deer. I saw the buck and two fawns again last night.

  6. You have lots of blooms yet. Cute chipmunk. I’ve not seen any of those around here. It has been a struggle to keep up with watering, and being away. I think everything survived, the new fennel are looking sickly, but there are caterpillars on them now! Happy dance!

    1. I know. And I have a lot of sedum getting ready to go. I don’t think I have much else happening in the late summer/early fall though. I should plant some mums.

  7. You have a lovely garden, in spite of the drought. I know what you mean about the perennials this year. Ours are on fast-forward too. Even the vegetables and fruit are early. It feels more like late August than late July.

Comments