A reflection on wildflowers

Do you ever have one of those days that your best laid plans keep going astray?

On Friday I wanted to take Arthur for a walk at the VOA after he got a heartworm prevention injection at the vets . He’s been a little neglected of late as we were preparing for, enjoying, and then recovering from a family reunion here at our home with our children and their significant others.

I wasn’t paying attention as I was driving along and missed my turn so I had to go the long way around to get there. Three cars were stopped in a line outside the entrance that was blocked with orange cones, and a young man was directing traffic to a far off soccer field. Bicyclists were pouring out of the park. Unbeknownst to me the VOA was being used for a triathlon practice.

I had already told Arthur we were going on a walk, so there was no going home without one now.

I winded back to the soccer fields, decided the VOA wasn’t going to work that day, turned around, exited and drove on to Sharon Woods Park. I had probably invested about 45 minutes in the car by now.

But Sharon Woods lake was beautiful in it’s summer garb. I spotted a splash of color and decided I could get some shots of wildflowers.

The outer edge of the lake was covered with these small yellow flowers. The pink flower actually looks more like an exotic transplant and I’m wondering if a well-meaning bird has transferred it here. We, all of us, affect nature by our actions.

I took some other shots of wildflowers along the edge of the woods, but I was using trying to use my iPhone camera while a small dog with no manners was tugging on the lead.

The photos were largely a disappointment. I had visions of doing my engineering thing and creating a table of wildflowers that I identify, and that may yet happen, but it wasn’t meant to be on Friday. You’d think I’d learn by now that solo walks with Arthur do not good photos make.

If you’d like to see a beautiful and charming photo of a field of flowers, Maralee at Through my Lens has one there.

I hope you had a relaxing weekend. The intense heat here has broken and we have our windows open today. I can hear the constant hum of the locusts, the occasional chirp or trill of a bird, and the soft rustle of the leaves as the cottonwoods speak to me.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

14 thoughts on “A reflection on wildflowers”

  1. I know what you mean about promising a dog a walk and needing to follow through. Isn’t it funny how this funny little creatures run our lives? LOL
    Sorry to have been away all last week. I’ve missed your posts.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    1. No problem, Kathy. I like it when you visit, but I don’t expect it. You are a great blogging supporter. I wish I had half of your stick-to-it-ness. I hope you enjoyed your break.

    1. It was a short walk, I opted not to go the whole loop around the lake like I usually do. Arthur is beside himself with pleasure whenever we go, even if it is just for a short jaunt around the neighborhood.

  2. I think you did pretty well with your pictures, even with Arthur helping! It looks like you had a nice day for it. It’s been hot and muggy here the last few days.

  3. I can just imagine you, trying to take a photo, while Arthur is wondering why you are looking through a silly object. ‘Come on, come on, come ooooonnnnnnnnn, I need to jump and run, sniff and bark at imaginary targets and do my stuff!’.
    Thanks for taking us on your walk, Christine.

Comments

