The pumpkins pulled me in

It was the pumpkin wagons that pulled me in. I just couldn’t resist the look of wooden wagons loaded with pumpkins.

Mark said we brought our children here a few times. And although I remember many years of visiting pumpkin festivals and pumpkin farms, I don’t have a clear memory of this exact place.

In the past we focused all our efforts on finding the perfect pumpkins, sometimes out in a field where they dotted the land from their decaying vines.

Yesterday I focused on the vibrant colors. All the colorful mums, variegated gourds, and bright orange pumpkins saturated my vision—it was like when Dorothy stepped into Oz.

This particular farm does a top-notch job with displays that draw casual passers-by in, like ourselves.

Actually, we stopped here briefly the day before for some apples on our way home from the Fernald Preserve (more on this later). I was tired from shooting a lot of photos and didn’t even get out of the car, but the loaded wagons of pumpkins called me back.

So we brought Arthur this time, who thought he had died and gone to heaven.

Nature’s bounty is amazing. The small pumpkins and gourds fascinate me.

In addition to more apples, we left with a trunk full of mums and pumpkins. How could we resist?

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

27 thoughts on “The pumpkins pulled me in”

    1. Thanks, LeRoy. I just went through all my subscriptions on Google Reader and didn’t see yours. I’m going to have to check into that. Thanks for stopping by.

    1. I just love the fall. Do you get a very long fall up there in Maine? Our son was up at Acadia over the last weekend. I think it may have rained most of the time.

    1. I do love this time of year. I was just wondering the other day if I like fall better than spring. I think in the fall I do, but when spring comes around, it takes my number one spot. I actually love all the seasons, with the possible exception of summer. Summer is just okay in my book. I don’t like the heat and the drying out.

    1. He’s getting more adamant about being included. He used to just stand in the hallway when we were getting ready to go someplace, now he gets as close to the door as he can. One day he absolutely did not want to be left behind and he got in the corner between where the door opened and the wall. I couldn’t get out the door without him.

  1. You’ve taken some great shots of nicely arranged fixtures of fall. It looks like they had a photographer’s lens in mind when they “decorated” with this wonderful bounty. It’s good to see Arthur again, I’ll bet he was one happy pup.

Comments

