Still blooming in my garden

Fall ushers in the beautiful colors of leaves, but it chases away the blooming flowers that cheerfully splashed color across my gardens and lawn throughout the summer. My potted annuals continue to provide vibrant color.

A few weeks ago I replaced the waning summer annuals in my flower boxes with mums, the garden workhorse of fall.

These mums (They could be asters; I’m not sure of the difference) are planted in my St. Francis garden. They’re the brightest spot of color there now.

The butterfly bush

and the roses are making a valiant last gasp. But their days are clearly numbered.

We have a plentiful supply of sedum that makes a statement in the fall garden,

and quite a few Liriope muscari, or Lily Turf, both variegated and non. They add a nice subtle color for the observant.

And all of sudden these charming white wildflowers are blooming along the woods’ edge.

The vanilla marigolds we planted in the empty space ravaged by our chameleon ivy eradication, have filled in nicely this year. I like them so well I may just plant them next year and skip the perennials in this particular spot altogether.

The Mandevilla that I planted in the garden continues to bloom like the one on the deck in the first picture. The Moonflower vine growing up the left side that I planted from seed did not produce any flowers until

September 29th when I noticed this bright spot from my kitchen window.

A single solitary flower. Isn’t it gorgeous? I like it so much, I’m thinking about trying to plant moonflowers in a big pot on our deck, which is full sun, and allow them to climb along our railing next year. It’s worth a try, anyway.

What’s still blooming where you are?

35 thoughts on “Still blooming in my garden”

    1. Did you get very many blooms? I wonder if I didn’t because it wasn’t in full sun. Is yours? I just read that moonflowers are poisonous, especially the seeds. I don’t suppose you’ve been snacking on the though.

      Thanks for sending A Frank Angle my way. I love his name.

  1. I loved seeing what’s in your yard. There’s still a lot blooming here. . . first frost isn’t for a few more weeks. Not many bees or butterflies anymore though.

    Nancy

    1. I don’t know remember what part of the country you live in. I don’t think we’ve had a frost here yet. I saw a beautiful butterfly yesterday that I didn’t know the name of. I went to get my camera, but it had gone when I got back. They’re hard to photograph anyway.

      1. The butterflies move really fast! When I did the ones at Williamsburg a few weeks back, I put my camera on jpg (vs. raw), cranked up the ISO to 800, and put it on continuous shoot. I threw away about half of them, but I got a lot of keepers. Raw doesn’t record fast enough on the camera card when you’re firing rapidly.

      2. That’s good to know about shooting on raw. I’ve done the same thing when I’ve tried to catch the hummingbird.

        In Richmond you’ll have nicer weather a lot longer than us, I suppose. I’d love to get back to Williamsburg.

  2. The butterfly bush is still going, as is the vitex, bee balm, and I found a couple new coneflowers, too! The geranium still has a few blooms, and a hanging basket of petunias has come back to life.

    1. I don’t know what vitex is. I need to get some bee balm and coneflowers, but I’ll have to find a place for them. I don’t have a lot of room to be creative here. I had a variety of plants at my old house in what I tried to fashion as an English cottage garden. The new owners, dug it under and planted grass. 😦

    1. It’s interesting that you reminded me of that. I’ve always heard that. And I think we must be in the autumn. I guess in some ways I’m glad I’m out of the heat of summer. It’s my least favorite season. Fall is an interesting mix of color and sadness, isn’t it? How appropriate.

  3. I love the fall mums but they also make me kind of sad because we all know what follows fall in Iowa…..a long cold windy snowy winter. I really need to move to a warmer climate again…lovely pictures, Christine!

  4. I do love your garden photos, Christine! They are beautiful. I’ve always wanted to grow moonflowers! So, as ever, I’m envious πŸ™‚ We are managing to still harvest a bit from our very weedy overgrown garden, though… beans, eggplant, and peppers. It’s a race with the deer and frost, though!

    1. Thanks, Julia. I didn’t actually grow moonflowers in the plural. I grew a single moonflower, but loved it very much. I wonder if you just don’t have a long enough summer there. It took all the way until the end of September before I got a bloom. I wonder if you could find started plants, or start them yourself in a greenhouse. Nice project.

      I think Mark’s vegetable garden is pretty well shot. He put a fence around it this year and that kept all the little critters out so we had a lot of tomatoes. The deer didn’t seem to bother it.

      It’s hard, and not that rewarding to keep up with weeding a garden at this point. That tumbled down, overgrown look is very ‘in’ for fall gardens. πŸ™‚

  5. Absolutely gorgous photos. I love gardens but have not been up to par this year so my gardens have been neglected. We are hoping for rain soon as have really had none to speak of since June which is quite unusual for Washington State. Thanks for sharing.

    1. I’m sorry to hear you’ve not been up to par this year, Renee. I hope whatever has got you a little down is moving on. This was a bad year for gardens all over, I think. We had pretty much of a drought through the summer. If not for a few reliable work horses in my perennials we were have had barren ground. Is it fall there now?

  6. Your garden is still very beautiful. πŸ™‚
    The mums and pansies are blooming here now, and some kind of little white flower that I haven’t identified yet sprung up at the back of the pond near the woods. It looks vaguely like lily-of-the-valley without the leaves. The asters and goldenrod are starting to turn brown, but there’s still some color left from them.

    1. Thanks for stopping by Victoria. Frank and I enjoyed each others photos of Italy the other day. I’m really looking forward to spring and flowers this year. The snow is melting here today. Thank goodness.

Comments

