The doe returns

About a week ago, I read a post called “They’re back” by a blogging photographer that I follow, Maralee at Through my Lens. Maralee lives in central Oregon and had posted over the summer about a lame fawn that was staying in her yard. It was a beautiful tale of nature. Maralee watched the doe and sibling come and go as they checked on the little lame fawn. Eventually the fawn was able to walk well enough to go with them.

Our doe – October 18, 2012

I commiserated with Maralee because I had been posting about “our” lame doe here. I haven’t seen her since early August when she froze beside the drive, her two fawns curled on the grass and a buck nearby as our son and his family from St. Louis arrived late at night, their headlights illuminating the deer family.

For the three years we’ve lived here, “our” doe has come through our yard on a regular basis with her fawns in tow—until this August.

This spring we noticed that she was walking with a limp and had a visible lump on the bottom of her foreleg. (You can see it in the photo above.) I worried about her health and safety. Then when she virtually disappeared from our yard for nearly three months, I feared the worst. “I think she’s dead,” I told Mark.

But she was back today.

Where are the fawns? I wondered.

I stepped outside to release a flying insect that I caught in our kitchen, and I heard a loud rustling in the fallen leaves in our woods. You might be surprised by how loud little squirrels can sound as they scurry along, but this was exponentially louder than that. Then I saw a yearling fawn burst out of the trees and run along the creek.

Welcome back.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

17 thoughts on “The doe returns”

  1. Yay. I’m so happy the doe was back and the fawn. They can hid in plain sight so well. Sometimes I have a hard time telling if I’m looking at a deer or a part of a tree. I suppose that is part of their protection. I’m so happy you saw her.

  2. Glad to hear your doe has returned! How exciting…and then to see the yearling, too. Our fawns have lost their spots completely now, but still come up into the yard to munch. I can never tell the deep apart unless they have something like a limp or definitive characteristic, but Barry claims to know them all by sight.

    1. I really don’t think we get a variety of deer around here. I believe they are mostly the same family. I was afraid our deer-sightings were at an end for a while.

Comments

