It’s going to be a great day

I was going to post today about waiting for our granddaughter. I was going to talk about how I imagine her all cozy and warm inside her mother’s womb, no scratchy or confining clothes to irritate her skin, no hunger pangs or distress from digesting food, her nutrition pumping directly into her tiny body from her mother.

Even though we are anxious to meet her, yesterday I thought, Let her stay in her comfy cozy place for a while yet. Let her stay until she is ready to leave, for she’ll never know the likes of that again and she will be here soon enough. The journey out into this world will likely be uncomfortable and frightening for her. Let her stay a little while longer.

Last night when I went to bed, I thought this is what I would post about today.

Instead, an hour and a half after a 5:16 a.m. phone call, Mark and I are moving through the night rushing along the highway in the dark, a line of red tail lights lighting our way from the cars of those who are trying to get to work on the front edge of rush hour. But we’re not rushing to work. Our bags are packed and stowed in the trunk, my computer, camera, and video camera in the back seat. We are at the beginning of a 6-hour drive to St. Louis to meet our granddaughter when she arrives.

It’s going to be a great day.

35 thoughts on “It’s going to be a great day”

    1. She’s a little sweetie. The hospital photographer was taking pictures of her and the family yesterday when we took Luke over to the hospital for a visit. I think she probably got some great shots. Violet was wide awake and looking around most of the time. Precious.

    1. You’re right! And the fascinating part was that yesterday when we were there with her 2-year old brother Luke, she was crying and then she heard Luke say something and she stopped crying to listen. He started singing a song and she looked at him the whole time. I am so happy I got to witness that.

      (It’s actually my oldest son’s family, and daughter in law.)

      1. I don’t know how you fell off my radar, Carol Ann, and I missed your most recent posts. I just visited your beautiful poems and left a comment there. Thinking of you.

      1. Congratulations to you all Christine, such a beautiful family time… I only know the Joy I felt… and its nearly 2 yrs this Dec.. My oh my how time has flown!.. And I remember it as if yesterday as she came in one of our worst ever winter storms, and they had the street dig out the car to get Mum to hospital.. πŸ™‚ xxxx

    1. It’s good to hear from you. I saw a comment by you on someone else’s blog and wondered what you were up to. I’ll have to stop by. Thanks for checking in here.

      1. Had been blogging off and on. Various and sundry projects in the works, especially with the holidays fast approaching.

        Hope all continues to be well for you and your family.

        hugs… πŸ™‚

Comments

