One day more

I woke up this morning grateful that our presidential election here in the United States of America is finally drawing to a close. One day more of campaign ads on the TV, campaign ads on the web, campaign ads littering the roadsides I drive. One day more of a barrage of phone calls from Cleveland and Columbus. . .

One day more of hope and uncertainty.

Then begins the disillusionment, disappointment, and outright anger that will be flung around for a while from disgruntled voters and politicians on the “losing” side. For the losing side will actually be a winning side in many states. Perhaps the losing side will actually be the winning side in the population as a whole—it’s happened before and I can tell you, if you happened to forget, it wasn’t pretty.

If you hadn’t already guessed, I lean to the left. But I understand and appreciate some of the philosophies of the right. I believe that is the way we all should strive to be instead of so combative and divided in this country.

I agree with the Republican concept of fiscal responsibility and deficit reduction.

I don’t understand the outrage over Obama Care. I really don’t. I know it may not be a perfectly defined system as it stands, but it is a beginning. Most other developed countries have a system of healthcare. And I think we live in a whole world now, and not an isolated country with some kind of misplaced sense of superiority that Americans know best. But regardless of what other countries are doing, I don’t know how it makes sense to continue the way we were going with health care. Many people are angry about the mandate to have insurance. But anyone who shows up at a hospital will be taken care of in this country whether they have insurance or can pay for it or not. Who pays for this? We are all paying for this in the form of medical costs and insurance premiums.

I agree with the concept of smaller government.

But I also think that people are flawed by nature and that history—from the days of feudal lords to corporate moguls—has shown time and time again that left to our own devices those with power (money) will more likely be driven by greed than goodwill. Corporations and businesses have a necessary place in our society, but they should not be the defining culture that makes us Americans.

Hopefully we will have a definitive election and by tomorrow night we will know who will lead this country for the next four years. And maybe, hopefully, this time, we will find a way to work together regardless of who it is.

One more day.

27 thoughts on “One day more”

  1. Much of the upset over Obama care is due to the stress it puts on small businesses. Many small businesses will go under and thus unemployment will sky rocket. I know many people who are afraid of going under due to Obama care. I do not know of one single small business owner in favor of it. If you’re not a small business owner you might not get it but if you’ve taken a look at the new legislation for them you’d understand.

    1. I honestly haven’t taken a look at the small business legislation. I just read Erin’s comment from Canada below. In light of the burden that seems to be on small businesses, maybe we should have done it through some kind of tax system. But you know how that would go.

      My dad had a small business for many years. I’m not sure if he provided health care for his employees. I’ll have to ask my mom.

      How do the employees of small businesses take care of their health care now? Do they have insurance? Where do they get it? Or are they some of the people that show up in the ER for basic medical care?

      I agree that what we have is probably not ideal. I don’t think there is anyone who feels like it is. But if I believe we need universal health care, as I do for many reasons, we had to start somewhere. If both sides would work together on it, I think we could have a better solution.

    2. I’m certain small business owners have a legitimate concern. Obamacare affects those having 50 or more employees. Businesses with less aren’t affected.

      I would hope that as a business grows the owner is taking into consideration the well-being of his/her workers. Rather than their health care being an afterthought, it should be a significant part of the business plan. Sick employees are no good to anyone…themselves, the owner…and the consumer.

      There are varying degrees of coverage offered by health care insurers. Each business should select one which best suits its needs, and its finances.

      If a business wants to be viable member of its community, I think it has a moral obligation to take care of the people it employs. I would not want to support a business whose bottom line does not include money set aside for those keeping the business alive.

  2. What I find interesting is that in Ohio you are being deluged with ads re presidential race. I am in New Jersey (came to your blog since I had bilateral tkr in September) and we have had NO ads. Romney has obviously conceded the state and Obama has no need to reach NY, NJ or Ct voters who will pretty much automatically support him.

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Bill. I hope your surgery went well. What are you five or six weeks out now from it? How are you doing?

      As far as campaign ads go, I’d trade you places in a heartbeat.

  3. I’m Canadian, so I watch from the sidelines. Our political system is completely different from yours and frankly, I’m glad. I can’t imagine the polarization here that the U.S. has, or only having two political parties to represent everyone in the country. We have free health care in Canada and have had it for a very long time. I don’t know what it is like to pay to go to a doctor or a hospital and I don’t want to know. It is paid for through taxes, and it is true that basically every developed country in the world except the U.S. has free health care. None of these countries are falling apart because of it, most have had it for a very long time. I also hope for the sake of my American friends that the election is a clear win, at least. Good luck down there!

    1. Thanks for weighing in, Erin. I’m so happy you shared your experience from Canada. We can get pretty short-sighted here in the U.S. of A. Unfortunately, we were not able to implement it as a tax, so now we have all the fallout from mandates. I hope with time, the politicians will be able to sort it all out and come up with something we can all live with.

      1. I hope so too, I really do. I guess my point was just that it can be done and there are different ways to do it. France has an even better health care system than we have, and I know we look to them for ideas that we can implement here. Maybe the U.S. will be able to look around and craft a workable system with the right leadership in place. I think your point about living as a whole world now and not isolated it valid for every country. At least you’ll be done with those ads soon enough 🙂

  4. I can only imagine what it must be like living in Ohio at this time. Jeez! You are living in THE “battle ground state.” I’ve heard no Republican and has ever been elected without winning Ohio. Sounds like you and I are VERY much on the same page–politcally. I’m scared about tomorrow. As someone with a chronic pre-existing condition, Obama Care is imperative for me.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    1. I have a good feeling about today, but I am a little bit nervous. And I also am concerned that voting snafus may make this thing drag out like the Gore-Bush election. That was awful.

    1. Here’s the kicker. Term limits for politicians would have to be voted on by Congress, I imagine.

      I hope you’re wrong about the party hacks and endless delay. That’s my biggest fear too.

      1. Fortunately it seems only Florida took its time getting the counts done… I’m starting to think that Florida needs to either be demoted from statehood or have its voting counting taken over by people from New Hampshire, just for good measure.

  5. I’m with you on all the ads and phone calls. It’s going to be very quiet around the house afterward. Yes, hopefully we will get people in place who will decide to work together for the good of America and not their own special interests.

    1. Thanks, Patti. It’s not even just special interests as much as strict adherence to party lines that causes the problems, and individuals who make pacts not to negotiate on certain issues, ever. That forces everyone to follow what they think should be done. Compromise is an essential ingredient of a democracy when you have many people who believe and think differently from each other. Our leaders and lawmakers have to come to the table willing to compromise.

  6. Hi Christine .. even over here – we’re saying one more day!! I suspect it’ll drag on a while – but let’s hope not .. and America can get working again and not politicking … all the best – Hilary

  7. With your compassionate attitude, I had a feeling you favored President Obama. I’ve written a few posts about why I voted for him, and not for Romney. However, I always invited readers to make up their own minds.

    I’ve read 2 books which I found very relevant, and extremely enlightening. They both contributed to my being an informed voter this election.

    “The Obama Hate Machine” provided insight into billionaire, oil-men brothers David and Charles Koch. They are the money behind the Tea Party Movement and the push back against climate change. They have already bought their way into Congress, having financed Boehner and other heads of important congressional committees. This was a scary read. Scarier than any fictional thriller.

    “The Real Romney” is a balanced biography. It depicts a man who loves his family and his church. It also speaks to Romney’s ambition and drive to succeed. Earning millions for himself and his investors brought out his best business sense. Throughout his life he has made certain to advance his political career, always sidestepping potentially hazardous issues. Flip-flopping on where he stands seems not to bother him. In fact, he would probably say it makes him relevant to the times, whatever the times are.

    I have a real problem with a President whose principles are always in question. And that’s my main reason for voting for Obama. It also helps that his efforts to turn the country around have been succeeding. Our country was in dire straights. Change without serious “side effects” takes time. And as Sandy has shown, only Obama is prepared to do something about climate change. Romney wants to create jobs on the back of greater fossil fuel pollution. What kind of a country does he want to leave our children and grandchildren? One with lots of money, but an earth that is literally going to hell.

    1. It sounds like you’ve thought things out pretty well for yourself, and I agree with your points.

      Romney’s biggest selling point is that he knows business. But the country or government doesn’t run like a business where the boss gets to make unilateral decisions. I’m not convinced he would be very successful at anything here. And I also don’t think our country should necessarily run like a business where the bottom line is all that matters. Like you said, the health of our earth matters. If we destroy the environment, nothing else will matter at all.

      1. From what I’ve read about Romney, the bottom line is what drives him. I’m afraid he would sacrifice all to accomplish that. Once that was done, he ‘d wipe his hands of whatever bad fallout ensued. That would be the next President’s problem.

        What’s also uncertain is the battle for power that would occur between Romney, the Tea Party politicians and the oil men who paid millions to get their candidate elected. We the people would literally be pawns in their game of winner takes all. Who knows what would…trickle down?

  8. Well said. I read one of the comments regarding Obamacare and small businesses. It’s not true that small business owners will suffer. In fact, it helps small business owners. There are several great articles about it. More than 50% of small business owners approve of the law, and that rate goes up once the details of the law are explained to those who thought negatively about it. The problem is that some people don’t like President Obama and use health care as an excuse.

    At any rate, I’m glad it’s over. The ads were driving me insane.

    1. Thanks for your support, Robin. You’re in Ohio, aren’t you? The home of the nonstop, frantic, campaign ads to win the one and only most important state in the campaign.

      I don’t know that much about the particulars of Obamacare, and I suspect there will be problems that need to be solved. It’s just a shame that it had to be forced through one-sided because some people weren’t willing to come to the table and negotiate. I hate that more than anything else.

      You’re probably right about people not liking President Obama. Which is a shame. I think he is an intelligent, caring, and kind man. But we all see through our own filters. (And you didn’t hear it from me, but I suspect latent racism may have something to do with it in some cases.)

Comments

