Audubon BirdCam – Take-1

I was excited when Mark surprised me with an Audubon BirdCam for Christmas. Now I could see what was going on outside when I wasn’t watching.

As you may know, beginning December 2, the months of December and January were difficult months for me as I tried to help manage our parents’ illnesses and moves to other living facilities. I was gone a lot, stopping home for brief pit stops, a change of clothes, a good night’s sleep. Under normal circumstances, given an exciting gift like the BirdCam, I would have immediately rushed outside and set it up. But these weren’t normal circumstances, so you’ll understand that I didn’t get my BirdCam set up outside until January 3rd.

Under normal circumstances, I would have been checking the BirdCam for new photos daily. As it was, I left it up outside and didn’t give it a second thought until February 11th, when I went out to retrieve the stunning photos of  birds that I was sure my new BirdCam had recorded in my absence.

I thought I’d share my first results using the BirdCam with you in the slide show below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thing you will notice right away is that the BirdCam did an excellent job of recording Mark, in various states of dress, filling the bird feeders throughout the weeks. You might also notice he was accompanied by Arthur at times who kept watch. You can see other wildlife, even an occasional bird or two, the best shots being of the squirrel that attempted to sneak its way up the pole. And you undoubtedly noticed the fine up close shot the BirdCam got of my red purse when I retrieved the photos.

Here is a cropped and enlarged photo of what may be a hawk in flight—the pride and joy of my first attempt with the BirdCam.

2012-01-11-hawk_maybe-crop

Clearly, the BirdCam is not idiot-proof and I suspect I could profit from taking a close look at the instruction manual.

However, if I ever need to see what Mark is up to outside, I have the equipment to do it.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

22 thoughts on “Audubon BirdCam – Take-1”

    1. It’s all him. I got rid of my whip years ago.

      Arthur is doing just fine. He’s going to be paying a visit to Anna in Columbus soon. He’s still a little rascal. Now he won’t come inside through the kitchen door unless someone gives him chicken. I’ve got his number. I just walk away from him. He’s met his match in me.

  1. I love the Mark cam!!! 🙂 I suspect you will figure out a way to actually get more bird pictures! I enjoyed seeing what you shared even if there were not a ton of birds! 🙂 Entertaining!!!

    1. I hope I do figure it out. Right now I feel swamped with photo albums and slides to scan, memorabilia to sort through, household possessions to choose, or pack away. You know how that goes. It wasn’t so long ago for you. I’m projecting myself out a year with the hope that by this time next year I’ll have made it through December and January and will feel like some kind of normal has set in again.

      1. I think that is about right, Christine. However we still have totes of stuff in the garage to sort through. The estate was finally settled this past month and distributions made and accounts closed out after almost 18 months. It takes awhile to be able to actually do the work of sorting through stuff too. Chris found he started too early and it was just too difficult so he put it away for a bit. It all takes time.

      2. For right or wrong, we’re doing it now. I’ve been going through drawers of memorabilia, cards, certificates, photos. And I’ve emptied out the bedroom closets and organized contents onto tables and in some boxes. Yesterday my sisters and I picked dishes and small household items. My brother doesn’t want anything. Tomorrow my sister and I are going to pack up what wasn’t selected and prepare it for donation somewhere.

        It is awfully painful, but we march forward. I allow myself time to stop and cry when I need to. Then I pick myself up and start packing clothes in bags (thank goodness that is done now), or collect Dad’s camera equipment into a box. . .

  2. Darn, the slide show isn’t working for me. Guess i don’t have Java script. But the camera sounds like tons of fun.

    I feel so out of touch with you, which makes me sad, as I know these past few months have been so difficult for you. However, the sale of our Lexington home and upcoming move to Ecuador simply won’t let me get on line as often as I’d like. I hate being so behind on your posts. Hopefully things will settle down once we are settled in Ecuador.

    In the meantime, I just wanted to check in briefly–and to send you warm thoughts and prayers.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. This was fabulous (and I’m JEALOUS of the bird/Mark cam!). The bird cam showed more than photos… what a supportive husband (just like MEH), willing to be in your blog in “various states of dress.” We’re way lucky, Christine!

    1. Well, technically I didn’t ask him, so I’m not entirely sure how willing he was. He did make a comment about receiving pay for his appearances on my blog . . .

  4. What a great gift! And what a hard worker Mark is. (And Arthur, too.) I was thinking we could tell much about the temperature by what Mark was wearing. I concur, the blur looks like a hawk. I know you’re going to have fun with this, and I look forward to seeing your visitors.

  5. Don’t know if this was suppose to get a laugh but it did. I love the idea of this cam, though, so you can see everything going on without having to go out in the cold if you prefer not to. Lovely bird feeders and that fellow filling them…so nice to have good help these days. lol 🙂

  6. Hi Christine .. what a lucky girl and something that you will so enjoy as the days and months pass … what a great idea for a present … and so pleased you were able to show us some of the camshow and the hawk – no doubt you’ll have so much more success once you’ve had a chance to get to grips with it ..

    I’ve been meaning to email and have failed – so do hope all is ok and you’re coping with the change – I think the Spring and Summer will give you some fresh air and life will be easier with those thoughts slowly receding into the memory bank …

    Big hugs – Hilary

    1. Thanks for your concern, Hilary. I am doing okay, going about my business, stopping every now and then when grief hits me with a punch to my solar plexus and drags me down below the water like an anchor. It passes. And I go on. I’m sure you know how it goes. Hope you are doing well.

    1. Thanks for stopping by, William. Hopefully I will be able to devote a little more time to this eventually and be able to acquire awesome photos. 🙂

Comments

