The last snowfall

Although March heralds spring, technically it is still winter until March 20 at 7:02 a.m. according to The Old Farmer’s Almanac. And today Mother Nature gave us a very clear reminder.

blog-01-snowfall-2013-03-06

Isn’t it beautiful?

blog-02-snowfall-2013-03-06

We need to keep the bird feeders filled for our little friends.

blog-03-snowfall-2013-03-06

But I don’t mind the snow.

blog-04-snowfall-2013-03-06

Daffodils aren’t up yet to have their backs bent by the weight. And the trellis is empty still.

blog-06-snowfall-2013-03-06

This wet, heavy snowfall colored my world bright, white, peaceful and calm. From my view out of the kitchen window to the office where I sit as I type.

blog-05-snowfall-2013-03-06

Like so many other things in life, the trips we take, the people we love, the snow will be gone soon. I’m soaking this one up as if it is the last one, like a last hug, a last smile, a last word. For lasts do come, most often without an announcement.

This is a beautiful snowfall, and it is the last.

Or maybe not.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

16 thoughts on “The last snowfall”

  1. As people have started posting pictures of this storm, I’ve become aware of how different this one looks. The snow looks heavier. It’s still beautiful, but in some ways it seems sadder than some of the images of earlier storms this year. Perhaps the winter is sad to go. Perhaps it is sad because it’s the last snow.

    Lovely post.

    1. The snow is very heavy and wet. That’s why it piled so high on the branches making everything very white. This is probably terrific snow for building snowmen or having a snowball fight — both of which are out of my league any more.

      With warmer temperatures predicted, I’m afraid Frosty’s life would be brief, indeed.

  2. Hi Christine .. love that the snow has coloured your world bright, white, calm and peaceful .. just what you need … I’d rather it stayed away here! Our daffs are up and open in places, the snowdrops in full bloom and drifting along the verges … I’d love to get to London to see the Crocuses in Hyde Park – great swathes of them … white, cream, orange, and purple … love them …. wonderful post to read … cheers Hilary

    1. Well, I’m over it by today and ready for it to be gone. I didn’t know that about the crocuses in Hyde Park. Sounds like a good time of year to make a trip across the water.
      Cheers.

  3. I can only hope it’s the last… but here in Maine we’ve been known to have surprise April snowstorms. We have about 3 feet of snow on the ground still, and I for one cannot wait for the green. That bird pic is adorable!

    1. Oh no. Three feet! Jeepers. The snow on our trees is starting to look like popcorn today. It fell off in globs yesterday. I don’t expect it to stick around very long.

      I am more than ready for the green, and flowers, and warm breezes. This has been a long cold winter.

  4. We had the same snow fall here. Woke up to the world covered in wet, white snow. Everything seemed so pretty. I tell myself any snow we get in March can’t stay long. March 20 at 7:02 a.m. but whose counting? me! me!

  5. Your backyard looks just like mine. What a beautiful sight when I went out with the dog this morning! I am ready for spring though. Hope you guys are doing well.

    1. It was stunning, wasn’t it? Now I’m over it.

      It was good to hear from you, Paula. We’re doing okay. Getting the house ready to try to sell it. You wouldn’t recognize it right now. We’ve got everything messed up, emptied out, stacked on tables, boxed in the garage. Mom and Dad’s bedroom is virtually empty because we had the carpet replaced and the walls painted. It’s hard. But we’re on a mission.

      I hope all is going well with you. It won’t be long before your daughter is home for summer, right?

Comments

