The last snowfall — take two

If you look closely you can see the snow coming down on a diagonal.
If you look closely you can see the snow coming down on a diagonal. March 24th.

I was only kidding when I said it was the last snowfall on March 6th. Today is actually the last snowfall.

03-snowfall-2013-03-25
March 25th in the morning.

And it’s been a nice snowfall so far, if snowfalls can be considered nice and not-nice. It’s not sticking to the roads yet, as you can see in the top left corner of the photo. And we didn’t get nearly the 4 to 7 inches the weather forecasters were  predicting.

04-snowfall-2013-03-25
March 25th.

The snow is blanketing the trees and ground with a soft white layer,

March 25.
March 25.

turning the views from our windows into picture postcards. Mother Nature isn’t finished painting with white apparently.

06-snowfall-2013-03-25

And that’s okay. I have the flag my mother made that I found at my parents’ house, still on the pole, and that I hung on the first day of spring to remind me what season we’re in.

I’m going to enjoy the snow while it falls. It is the last one.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

17 thoughts on “The last snowfall — take two”

    1. I actually found a flag for every season, folded and stashed away in a drawer in her antique china cabinet. I brought them all home.

      I feel pretty much like it’s time for the snow to go too, but I’m trying not to get down about it or it just becomes more painful.

      I’m planting pansies this week, even if I have to brush the snow off the ground to do it.

  1. Hi Christine – what a wonderful flag – brilliant and so pertinent for the ‘now’ … we don’t have snow here – but most of the rest of the UK has .. it’s been terrible!

    I really could do with seeing the sun again … a very Happy and Peaceful Easter … Hilary

    1. I don’t know, Cynthia. It makes me feel a little bit like you could be rubbing it in. We’re going to have beautiful 70 degree days soon. Just wait.

    1. My son, daughter-in-law, grandson and granddaughter live in St. Louis. They usually get bad weather about a day or two before us. They’re a great forecaster.

  2. We had our “last snow” about a week ago — a foot! I’m ready for spring, but we still have snow on the ground. I am fervently hoping all the new snow I see is on your (and other) posts! Here’s to spring, Christine! xox

Comments

