What a difference two weeks makes and the tale of a tree

My last post about spring was two weeks ago when I was Looking for Signs of Spring.

The tree with the swollen buds outside my kitchen door, is in full bloom. Last year this little tree only had one solitary flower. It’s interesting to note that I photographed and posted about that single bud on March 19th last year. We are nearly a month behind on spring this year. That’s the last time I pay attention to Punxsutawney Phil.

11-Signs_of_spring-2013-03-30
March 30

01_2013-04-10
April 10

02_2013-04-10
April 15

Last year on March 19th, I took a photo of the magical green veil as the leaves in woods begin to unfurl. I called it “an elusive green mist where fairies play.” I’ve been waiting and waiting to see it this year, and the mist has finally arrived. It is rushing forward into full-blown leaves. The trees are trying to make up for lost time.

03-April_10_Woods-2013-04-15
April 10, 2013

04-April_14_Woods-2013-04-15
Five days later

Here’s a sad part of the story. Last year from my window view as I sat at my desk, this little tree was blooming brightly across the lane on our stretch of property there.

About a month ago, I was sitting here typing as I often am in the morning, and I heard and then saw about 5 or 6 township workers with chain saws working across the lane clearing things out. This wasn’t completely unexpected because the manager had stopped here last fall to talk to us about cutting down a big dead ash tree up on the hill. We own the majority of the hillside, but the township owns the top where there is a small pioneer cemetery that is overgrown for the most part. But as I sat and watched the workers, I saw a man come up to the little tree that was not yet in bloom but beginning to bud. “I hope he’s not going to cut that down,” I said to myself. And no sooner were the words out of my mouth than the deed was done. Some things just don’t have do-overs.

Mark was not a happy camper. He loves his trees.

As you may be able to see from the above photo, there was a LOT of honeysuckle over there.

05-new_trees-2013-04-15

The workers managed to decimate about half the dense growth over there before Mark and another neighbor put a halt to it, resulting in a half thick, half bare view across the way. We had them finish the removal of the honeysuckle from our property.

06-new_trees-2013-04-15

But Mark had them mark the small trees they were to leave standing. They had been removing the smaller diameter trees as well as chopping down the honeysuckle. The yellow tags around the trees indicate they are to be removed, the pink means they are to be left alone. Our neighbor had them completely block off his property with yellow tape. Now it looks like some kind of marriage of a crime scene with a used car lot across the lane.

07-new_trees-2013-04-15

After much to-do, several emails, and a township trustee meeting over there, the township will be replacing our blooming tree that they leveled with a comparable one. Mark marked the place for it so they could check on underground utilities.

08-new_trees-2013-04-15

Being something of opportunists, with the removal of all the undergrowth, Mark and I went out yesterday and bought then planted  a peach tree shown above

09-new_trees-2013-04-15

and a cherry tree. They are both self-pollinating, which is an interesting idea if you stop and think about it. I’m thrilled about the cherry tree because we grew up with two cherry trees in our back yard. My mom made cherry jelly.

“You won’t be making cherry jelly with these,” Mark said. “We had trees like this at our last house and we never reaped a harvest.”

“I’m going to make cherry pie,” I said, undeterred.

“The birds got all the cherries,” Mark said. “You won’t get any.”

I can taste that cherry pie already.

10-robin-2013-04-15

Meanwhile, a robin kept watch.

“And peach pie too,” I added, “I can’t wait.”

12 thoughts on “What a difference two weeks makes and the tale of a tree”

  1. Crime scene tape was the first thing that came to mind, I liked that you threw in the used car lot, too. 🙂 I’m glad the workers were stopped from destroying any more of the trees. The value of a tree was the subject of my post today, too. I hope you get your pies!

  2. Mom and dad had a cherry tree that overflowed with cherries ~ enough for several pies each year . . . with plenty of cherries for the birds too.

    Good luck.

  3. How wonderful to replace the trees.. love this post.. Im always happy when trees are being planted, but can see why they thin them out too, so as to give the others room to grow.. Lovely photos again xx

  4. Hi Chris .. devastation .. the one thing about nature is – that it does grow back .. and you have two new trees … not a happy situation or easy one – people just don’t have any idea .. cheers Hilary

Comments