If the humans left

I was sitting at the kitchen table this morning watching a robin enjoy the hanging planter full of garden refuse that I left for the birds as a kind of discount store or bonanza.

02-robin-2013-05-19

We had already cleaned all the old dried leaves and winter garden refuse from the ground, and Mark covered it all with a rich, crisp layer of mulch, leaving slim pickins’ for nest-building birds.

I patted myself on the back. If I wouldn’t have created this hanging basket for them, what would the robins have done?

As I watched out the window, I noticed a rustling in the leaves near the top of a tree. A little squirrel emerged with a leaf-laden twig in its mouth and scampered across a few limbs, then up the trunk of a dead tree where I saw she was happily building a nest. It’s a dead ash tree, technically on our neighbor’s property. They plan to have their dead ash trees removed this year. I don’t believe there is anything I can do to save the squirrel, the nest, and any babies that arrive, beyond hoping that the tree-cutters won’t come too soon.

01-Squirrel_nest-2013-05-19

Yesterday I walked out into our garage and was startled by a small bird in there. I think it was a juvenile wren. One of the two garage doors was open, but the little guy couldn’t seem to find his way out. I spent the next hour or so trying to help him leave. I adjusted both garage doors to try to give him space above and below the door to leave. I moved the car out of the garage so it wouldn’t get in the way. I talked and chirped to the bird, showed him the way out, chased him around the garage with a broom to try to direct him out, and tried to catch him in a sheet.

At one point after I had gone back inside for a few minutes, I found two other wrens in the garage. They left immediately upon my return and my hopes that one of them was the little guy were soon dashed when I heard him chirping. But I was encouraged that I was not the only one trying to rescue the baby.

Eventually I was able to lower the window blind behind him, reach in and catch the little guy in my sheet-covered hand. I patted myself on the back for returning him to the wild.

Bird in garage

What would he have done if I wasn’t here? I wondered.

If I wasn’t here at all, then maybe my house and garage wouldn’t be here either. And the natural progression of that kind of thinking led me to the question, What if all the humans left?

The birds would still be here. The robin would find nature-provided nesting materials all around.

The squirrels’ new home would not be in jeopardy.

And the little bird would never have found its way into a place it couldn’t leave.

When we were driving to Hocking Hills a few weeks ago, we passed an abandoned property on a country road. I first noticed the rusted, decaying car near the road. Then I saw the decrepit house further back in what was becoming woods. The rectangular property lines were clearly discernible where the neighboring properties, still being tended, ended and this abandoned property began,  as if a surveyor had pounded in stakes at the corners and strung a wire around. The grass was long, trees and bushes were sprouting up throughout. The semi-hidden car and the house were falling apart in pieces on the ground. The earth was reclaiming its own.

I don’t know how long the abandoned property has stood there, but my guess is that it hasn’t been all that long in the whole scheme of things.

If the humans left, the earth would reclaim its own in short order most likely. And the birds, the squirrels, the deer and all the creatures would have their paradise without us.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

14 thoughts on “If the humans left”

  1. Loved your post.
    Nature is just full of wonder ~ sweet how you capture “Her” precious moments.

  2. Insightful post, Christine. Part of me laughs at the ego of many humans to think that we are the most valuable thing on earth. Life will go on without us, and it may even be better.

    1. I think life probably would be a lot better without us messing it up. That’s what I was thinking about the birds, and squirrels for that matter. They build their homes out of sustainable, biodegradable things that don’t take any artificial energy to create. The earth runs pretty well by design. We probably would function okay too, if we got back to the basics, but our egos and drive for more have created a lot of problems.

  3. The planet will carry on, renew, absorb, and support the life of so many. Aren’t we blessed that she allows us to share in all her life! Moments like this remind us of our being and passing as one strand in the pattern of all.

  4. I think about these things more often than I probably should… especially when I see us encroaching on natural habitats or when I see a bird stranded in Walmart. Indeed, what if all the humans left, words to ponder! Great post!

    1. Thanks, Julia. I was driving around today wondering what would be the last things to disintegrate. I suspect some of the concrete and steel structures might last for quite a while.

  5. I’ve been seeing small, nibbled-off oak branches on the grass where a little builder has dropped them. One year my husband commented they were wasting a lot of building materials. Isn’t it a nice feeling to interact with nature, though? I’m sure the robin was happy you did.

  6. I was looking elsewhere earlier at a series of photos of what were once lodges and buildings, quickly being overtaken by nature as the years go on. It doesn’t take long….

  7. Wonderful, thought-provoking post. I’ve noticed, now that I’m truly in a wild area, that nature is frighteningly quick to claim or reclaim. Perhaps it’s because it’s so warm here, but the wilderness is hard to hold back.

    1. I feel the same way about where we live. It’s a constant battle to keep the woods out of the gardens. I hope you are enjoying your new home. I haven’t been reading a lot of blogs lately. I hope to catch up soon.

Comments

