One for my bird list – the blue-gray gnatcatcher

I’ve been noticing a couple of tiny birds in the two locust trees outside my study window. I think they may have an nest in our birdhouse that’s hanging there.

Photo from The Birds are Back post October 11, 2012.

Heeding the advise of my bird-watching blogging friend, Patti, at A New Day Dawns, I tried to identify distinguishing characteristics. The small relatively nondescript birds always confound me. But today I was successful at identifying the blue-gray gnatcatcher, even if I didn’t get a good, clear, up close and personal shot. The little birds would not sit still for a moment.

01-Blue-gray-gnatcatcher - 2013-06-02 _01

The first thing I noticed other than its small size, was the white-striped tail. At first I wondered if it could be a baby mockingbird because of its size and its tail. Peterson’s Field Guide to the Birds East of the Rockies describes the blue-gray gnatcathcer as suggesting “a miniature Mockingbird.” Although I didn’t recognize it until I read it in Peterson’s, this little bird also has a distinctive white ring around its eye that you can see in this photo.

04-Blue-gray-gnatcatcher - 2013-06-02 _17

Peterson goes on to say that the its tail is “often cocked like a wren’s tail and flipped about.” Although Peterson doesn’t mention it, I thought that the beak was particularly long and slender.

05-Blue-gray-gnatcatcher - 2013-06-02 _19

Here is an action shot of the blue-gray gnatcatcher giving me the what-for. It had a worm in its mouth and I think it was trying to intimidate me away from its nest by making what could only have been considered a threatening noise and flapping its wings.

06-Blue-gray-gnatcatcher - 2013-06-02 _20

That wasn’t particularly effective coming from such a tiny mite. But I moved on anyway not wanting to intrude on a mother’s work of feeding her young.

This bird’s size makes it irresistible. It definitely has found a place near the top of my favorite birds list.

11 thoughts on “One for my bird list – the blue-gray gnatcatcher”

    1. You’re the best William, still out here commenting. I’m largely floundering, but the pain I felt earlier has lessened dramatically. Thinking of you.

    1. Thanks, Kathy. I’m committed to trying to appreciate the little guys. I used to think of them all as sparrows. But it requires a little education and discipline, neither of which I have in excess these days.

Comments

