Here’s the thing about deer

If you’ve kept up with my blog at all over the couple of years I’ve been cluttering up the internet with minutia, you already know that I love deer. I have a whole page devoted to my deer posts, I spend a lot of time running for my camera and trying to capture the image of these beautiful creatures in a digital file.

However, if you’ve been keeping up, you also know I love my gardens, and rejoice in the surprises they offer me, like the recent volunteer sunflowers, for example.

01-volunteers-2013-06-21
June 22 – volunteer sunflowers in my garden

We’ve never been able to grow sunflowers here before because of the critters. I’ve been running outside with my camera and shooting the progress of the sole sunflower bloom so far.

Can you guess where this post is headed?

June 25 - morning
June 25 – morning

This morning I was greeted by sunflower stalks with leafless stems poking out.

June 25 - morning
June 25 – morning – deer track in garden

And it didn’t take a lot of detective work to figure out who did it.

2013-06-25-8-40-am
June 25 – afternoon

I think I should just make this point perfectly clear to the four-legged creatures dining in our garden — you’re not the only ones who like the sunflowers. Leave something for the rest of us.

So far so good. The buds and blooms are still intact.

However, I am not going to be a happy camper if I wake up one morning to find them missing.

14 thoughts on “Here’s the thing about deer”

  1. I love garden “volunteers.” You never know what will come up. Not so fond of deer; they even ate rhubarb leaves which are poisonous. I guess they’re immune.

  2. Sweet post… love the photos. It seems to me your writing style is “coming back to life too” ~ like the humor and “lightness” I feel in it. Love you, Carol

    1. Thanks for stopping by Carol. I’m really up and down here. Somedays I am light and full of life and energy, and the very next day I can be completely down in the dumps and almost immobile. I’ve never experienced anything like this.

      Hope you are doing well. Good luck with your move.

Comments

