The amazing planet earth

Downed red bud tree – March 2012

This planet we’re on and the plant life on it never fail to amaze me. Right now a storm just kicked up outside my study window where I sit at my desk. The rain is pouring, tree limbs are moving violently, thunder is booming, and my little dog Arthur is hiding behind the recliner shaking. I’ll have to go get his Thunder Shirt.

Storms amaze me. But that isn’t what this blog is about, just a timely coincidence.

I want to talk about new growth. New life.

You might remember last spring when I came home to find our red bud tree in the back yard lying down on the ground in full bloom, like a carelessly tossed aside bouquet.

Mark went out and cut it off at the ground. I brought in a few boughs for a centerpiece, a floral arrangement to  mourn the loss of this herald of spring.

02-beavers-2013-07-10

And if you’ve followed my blog at all, you probably know I like to take Arthur for walks at the Voice of America park where I often take photos of the birds that frequent the lake and surrounding meadowland. What you don’t know is that they have had a problem with beavers there in recent years. Even if you’ve never seen the results of a beaver’s work on a small tree, you will know right away if you ever do.

01-beavers-2013-07-10

 In March of this year, this is what was left of a Cleveland Pear tree planted in memory of a individual named Walsh.

04-Flemming_White_Oak-2013-07-10

And this is what was left of a Swamp White Oak in memory of Dan Fleming.

I thought the trees were goners.

But here’s the amazing part.

03-Walsh_pear-2013-07-10

In the beginning of June, the Walsh pear tree started showing signs of life.

07-oak-2013-07-10

By the end of June, the Swamp White Oak had a lot of dense new growth.

06-red_bud-2013-07-10

And finally, our red bud tree is growing again. It looks like a little bush beside the chairs.

I think this is amazing.

What are we to make of it?

Well, some might say, that’s no big deal. The trees have an extensive root system that stayed alive even in the absence of limbs and leaves.

Yes! My point exactly.

It is all underground. I can’t see any of it. There is life pulsing beneath the earth, within the soil. Isn’t that amazing?

This is an incredible beautiful bountiful planet.

Don’t miss it it on your short stay here.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

17 thoughts on “The amazing planet earth”

    1. I’ve never seen a live beaver, or lodge or dam of one. I did see a dead beaver floating at the side of the VOA lake last year or the year before. I don’t know if foul play was involved. I didn’t want to know.

  1. it is a BIG deal! I love it!!!! What a great post to remind us that it truly is an amazing planet! Thanks! And stay dry. Sounds like Ohio is getting pounded!!!!

    1. We have gotten pelted. Our geraniums are all dead from too much water. It’s difficult gardening conditions. I haven’t been outside much at all this summer. It looks to be a beautiful day today though.

  2. I love your enthusiasm, Christine. And quite agree. This is an amazing planet with wonderful surprises around every corner.

    We chopped down a Yucca tree that had grown too big for its britches. Before we got around to digging up the root, it started to grow back. So we left it. I marvel at its resilience.

    1. I know I’m pretty dead-pan most of the time. It’s a long way from the cheer leader I was in high school . .
      My mom cut an overgrown tulip tree down to about three feet above the ground one year and it came back beautifully.

  3. Hi Christine .. it’s amazing where nature takes us – and there’s so much we don’t know .. I love the way the trees have and are continuing to flourish …

    My ‘uncle’ said to me .. see that little tree over there – it’s been a dead twig for a year .. but I left it .. and look now – life growth ..

    Fabulous nature .. cheers Hilary

    1. I’m glad you told me the story about your uncle’s tree. We planted three little trees this spring and I think it has been too wet for them. Maybe we should give them a little more time before pulling them back out.

  4. We live in the woods and I am here to testify that it is a LOT harder to get rid of a tree than people think. As long as the roots are alive, cutting it down just gives it a new lease on life. We’ve been thinning our woods because it was getting too crowded and a lot of trees were beginning to look unhealthy. But all the cut down trees are coming back. Mostly they are oaks, so it will take a while before they get big again. If someone prunes them carefully, they might just turn back into trees 😉 Plants are amazing. Trees are the most amazing. Poison ivy, on the other hand …

    1. A lot of things are a lot harder to get rid of than we think. I think we believe that because a dead tree can be cut down and it doesn’t come back, then cutting down a live tree will do the same. Not nearly so.

      We have our share of poison ivy here. We do the best we can with it. Mark reacts terribly to it. Thank goodness for steroids.

Comments

