What would you do?

Table decorations-2013-10-03
Party table decorations – taken October 3, 2013

I told you all about the Project 365 challenge I was doing where I have to take a photograph every day. I can save them up and post them in batches, but the idea is that I shoot one every day. I started this in August and was vigilant about getting a photo every day even if that meant I had to take a picture of Arthur pulling on my shoelaces as I sat in my recliner late at night, or I had to walk around my yard yet again and try to find a spot of color in the waning flowers.

If you haven’t figured it out by now, my “What would you do?”  is not an earth-shattering question or dilemma, just a little getting-to-know-you-better question.

You might have noticed my recent absence, or short cameo appearances, in the blogging world. We have been planning, preparing, and then throwing a celebration or reception at our home for our son and daughter-in-law who got married in a private ceremony in August. The party was this weekend, so once I clean up the crumbs, wash the sheets and towels, and put away the toys, my to-do list will become exponentially shorter.

I was still able to get my one photo a day in the days leading up to the party. I took pictures of the mums we were shopping for, and the solar globe lanterns we hung on our deck. But when our children and grandchildren started arriving for the weekend, and the party day came, I fell off the photo wagon. You would think the opposite would be true, but not so.

So here’s my question. What should I do about the photo a day?

Should I wave a white flag and say, “This is really too large a comitment, I’m going to abandon it after only two months” ?

Should I cheat and take make-up pictures today changing the meta data to make it look like I kept going?

Should I just leave the days without photos blank, and keep going from here, accepting the fact that I’m not perfect, nor do I need to be?

What would you do?

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

44 thoughts on “What would you do?”

  1. I think you could do a photo a day. But try not to make it a perfect photo every day. That sounds like too much. Just use your smart phone, click and post. Try a selfie once in a while.

  2. I would “leave the days without photos blank, and keep going from here, accepting the fact that I’m not perfect, nor do I need to be.” I’m sure you were still looking at the world for pictures even if you didn’t snap the photo. To me, these challenges should inspire not limit. Once they become an obligation they lose some of the charm and the meaning. That’s my two cents.

      1. They are hard to ignore, aren’t they? I talk a good game, but beat myself up over the same kind of things . . . like I am somehow the worst of the worst if I let one thing slide. Sigh.

      1. I loved Normandy. We stayed in Caen. We saw a cathedral there. There was also a castle or fortress of some sort. Have you been there?

  3. Definitely keep going! Acknowledge that life happens and in that space of time when there are blank spaces you just had other things to attend to. No big deal, in my humble opinion. I agree with Lisa that the challenge should not be limiting and a sense of pressure. Do what you can do—-there is absolutely no shame in that whatsoever!!!!

  4. What would I do?

    I would look within for guidance to see if the challenge still appealed to me. If so, I’d keep going. If not, I’d stop.

    I did just check out some of your other photos on the challenge ~ it’s a lovely diary of sorts.

  5. I would keep going…I tried to do this and I quit…now that Jess is gone I wish I had stuck with it, though I do take a lot of photos. I am going to try and do it again, maybe starting on January 1st. Or maybe I should commit to start on Jessica’s birthday – October 17th. Maybe you could keep going to get in a good rhythm and then start fresh with a whole new 365 days on January 1st…

    1. I hope you rejoin. We could friend each other. I don’t have a lot of friends there, but I enjoy the ones I do have. I think Jessica’s birthday is a terrific place to start. Her birthday is the day after our first grandchild’s birthday on the 16th. It was a lovely time of year to have a baby, I imagine.

      You’re going to have some rough days ahead. Just know that there is light at the end of this tunnel. I’ll remind you of the story the Hospice nurse told us when Annie was dying. It was in the book, but you might have forgotten.

      There was a little boy who died and went to heaven. His mother was inconsolable. She cried and cried every day. Meanwhile, every day in Heaven the angels led all the little children in a parade. This was a very big event and all the children were excited to participate. The angels gave each child a candle, and then set it aglow with a bright flame. But this little boy was sad because he couldn’t walk with a light in the parade. His mother’s tears kept extinguishing his candle’s flame.

      Let me know if you start the photo project. I hope you do.

  6. I did a 365 a couple of years ago as part of my recovery process. It worked as it made me look for things even if on some days they were really mundane. Plus it gave me focus (pardon the pun) and I got to know my camera better by doing the exercise.

  7. I would definitely leave the missing days blank….fill in the blackness with words of what you saw that deserved a photo leaving the visual to everyone’s imagination! Just because there isn’t a photo there doesn’t mean the day wasn’t worth recording.

    1. Thanks, Cindy. I don’t know if I will go back and fill in words or not. It might not be a bad plan. The days I missed were the wedding celebration days. . .So I could at least record those.

  8. If you have had fun taking a photo a day, then carry on; leave the days blank when you didn’t take a photo. If you feel taking a photo a day is too much for you, then stop

  9. Or don’t do a photo a day. Write something instead. Post something funny you found elsewhere. Reblog something interesting. Review a book. Or a TV show. Or take a nap and (gasp) skip a day. Bet the world will keep turning 🙂

  10. I agree with all those who said to leave blank any day you didn’t make a photograph.
    If you get stuck you may want to make your 365 Genre specific like macro’s, or landscapes, street, sunrises/sunsets, etc. Or, use the Alphabet e.g. find something that starts with the letter A and so forth.

    I think you’re awfully courageous for starting the 365 project. I know it would be too much for me. I’ve always said I would do a weekly or monthly project, but not a daily.

    I have started to compile a list of things to shoot in the event I ever do take on such a project.
    I have things like:
    Sunrise
    Sunset
    Colors
    Macros
    shadows
    reflections
    side light
    backlit
    collage
    triptych
    birds
    pets

    You get the idea. Best of luck!

    1. Thanks for the ideas. Maybe it would be easier if I went with themes from time to time. I will give it some thought. (And save your ideas in case I need one.)

  11. I would only do it if I was enjoying it and felt it was possible without stressing about it (I wouldn’t be able to do either, btw, haha). Otherwise, like others suggested, I’d do it when I could. That said, I love your photos 🙂

    1. Thanks, Julia. I wish I had more time to read and learn about photography to improve my skills. Hopefully just this exercise alone with force me out of my comfort zone. Gotta stop by soon. I miss everybody. I have been lacking energy and motivation for quite a while. I hope I feel better soon, although I don’t look for that to happen until after the holidays. I never anticipated how difficult and painful it would be to lose Mom and Dad. Some days I feel fine, and others the pain is as real and sharp as at the beginning. The last few days have been rough. I think I’m starting to under the permanency of it all.

  12. I’d just accept the limits of time and do what you can when you can. No worry. It’s the spirit of the commitment that counts.

    And, gosh, those mums are beautiful. Don’t see those here.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    1. I love the mums, but we’ve not had a lot of luck with them in our gardens. We’ll see if any of those that we planted this year will come back. . .

      Stay cool.

    1. I thought about that. But I hate to give up the months I already did. I will probably just keep going and hope for not too many blank days. Although something about starting on the 1st does appeal to me. Maybe I’ll start in ernest on the 1st. 🙂

  13. These challenges are supposed to be fun, not a burden. So I would take a picture and post it if you have the time and peace of mind to do it, and skip it if you don’t – without any regrets. 🙂

Comments

