The animals at Conner Prairie – a scoot and shoot event

Conner Prairie is an Interactive History Park in Fishers, Indiana, about 25 minutes north of Indianapolis.

01-Conner_Prairie-2014-04-10-1080

It is a Smithsonian Institution Affiliations Program. I never realized such a thing existed. Live and learn—which is the idea, I suppose.

02-Soldier-2014-04-10-768

Conner Prairie has a welcome center, a nature walk and five main areas: the 1863 Civil War Journey based on the Raid on Indiana, an 1836 Prairietown, the Conner Homestead, the Lenape Indian Camp, and an 1859 Balloon Voyage. It probably goes without saying that this little guy was standing guard in the Civil War Journey. He looked familiar. I wondered if he accompanied Lincoln the day he came to town.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And this handmade canoe was part of the Indian Village. I stopped by there briefly. A young man who couldn’t have been a day over eleven was hefting a tomahawk over his shoulder getting ready to throw it at a target. The target area was roped off, but the spectators were fairly close to the young man’s backside. I didn’t want to be around in the unfortunate event of a backstroke misfire that sent the tomahawk (probably just an axe, really) sailing towards the crowd (or two or three parents and siblings who were watching.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This little blue wheelbarrow was loaded with hay, just waiting for a small person to come along and interact with it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The larger blue wagon made a nice lawn ornament.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What would an interactive park be without a petting zoo, or in this case, barn? Isn’t this little girl adorable? I watched her drum up the courage to get close enough to touch the goat, that outsized her by quite a bit. The goat was a patient and tolerant participant, as you can tell by the look on his face.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This little calf was also working at the petting zoo, although I must have caught her at break time.

08-Resting-2014-04-10-1080

Even the human animals needed to find a place to rest their back and take a quick break every now and then.

09-Hoopster-2014-04-10-1000

Some of their work was quite challenging.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These pigs were working hard digging a big pit in their pen. I’m not sure why.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And the chicken was standing on the rail keeping an eye on things. Probably a fairly boring job, but somebody had to do it.

12-Rooster_and_chicken-2014-04-10-1000

It’s more fun to strut around the yard looking important, I imagine.

13-Blacksmith-2014-04-10-1000

This blacksmith really was working hard. He spent an awfully long time heating and hammering out a solitary nail. I’m not sure how the pioneers got anything done at this rate.

14-Sheep-2014-04-10-1000

I really think these guys were just loafing around. I couldn’t see any useful purpose in their activity, unless it was their job to keep the grass trimmed. They were chewing on it quite deliberately.

15-Lamb-2014-04-10-1080

Isn’t she a doll? I watched her try and try to pick this stick up. She finally got it. Sort of.

16-Laundry-2014-04-10-768

This goes without saying. But it illustrates a new and useful purpose for a picket fence.

We had a beautiful day at Conner Prairie. I hope we go back when the trees are in leaf. It will look like a whole new world then, I imagine.

 

See more Scoot and Shoot posts here.

Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

15 thoughts on “The animals at Conner Prairie – a scoot and shoot event”

    1. The babies in the petting barn were sweet. There was also a little black goat that was adorable, but I couldn’t get a picture of him. He was pretty busy.

  1. This is fascinating! I love coming upon unknown places like this (in real time, or virtually with you). Your photos put me there. My favorite? The little girl with the goat. The patient kind look on the goat’s face is priceless. (By the way, the animals looked well taken care of, which is wonderful to see too…)

    1. Thanks. The animals were well-taken care of. As was the entire place. I couldn’t resist the little girl. I was just walking by and I saw the goat was out. Then I saw the little girl. It took her a long time to work up the courage to go up to the goat and touch it. Even then, she was only willing to risk one finger. Darling.

    1. Hi Arlee. It’s been a while. I’ll have to stop over. I have lost my moorings here on the web. I hope to get back to some kind of regular basis of reading and writing posts, but don’t hold your breath. . .

    1. I took a ton of pictures of that baby lamb. It was having a bit of a struggle with that long stick. But it was determined. It’s funny how the parent just lies there impervious to the activity of the baby by its side.

  2. I didn’t know there were Smithsonian affiliations outside of D.C. That little lamb is adorable! We saw an old cart like that (not painted a pretty blue, though) at an antique shop a few years back. We now wish we’d brought it home.

    1. It’s good to hear from you Nancy. I’ll try to catch up with you soon. Life has been absolutely crazy since early this year when three out of the four of our children decided to play musical jobs and cities. Everybody’s been on the move. Two of them are temporarily here right now. I hope all is well with you.

Comments

