“Tis the season

You probably thought I gave up, or forgot about all of you. Not so. Just re-evaluating what I want to be when I grow up, and whether writing continues to have a role in my life.

Two years ago, at the beginning of this month, the challenges with my parents, as Mom tried to take care of Dad and Dad continued to decline with Alzheimers, jolted into high-gear-crisis-mode and we were on a speeding course of doctor’s appointments, hospital stays, and so forth, that led to both of their deaths by the end of January. The only good thing I can say about all of that is that it is over. And I will never have to go through that particular trauma of losing my parents again. Gratitude.

I also think that because of all the events that occurred during this Holiday month of family celebrations, December will always be bittersweet for me. It might have felt that way anyway. Holidays can be difficult for many people for many reasons. There are plenty of Christmas songs out there to remind us. But I do not feel the pain this year, more a quiet peace and contemplation with a few tears thrown in here and there. Sometimes it seems like Mom and Dad have been gone forever. And sometimes I am back in the Hospice room with Mom like it was yesterday.

Maybe this dichotomy of joy and sorrow that I find so inherent in the Christmas season is a lesson. Perhaps it is a reminder that this is what our lives here on this planet are about, learning to have joy in the presence of the inevitable sorrow.

Hoping you find the joy this holiday season.

Shillitos Christmas window display in Mariemont - a Scoot and Shoot event.
Shillitos Christmas window display in Mariemont – a Scoot and Shoot event.
Author: CMSmith

I enjoy reading, writing, gardening, photography, genealogy and travel. I have opinions about many things, but am trying to age gracefully and not continually tick people off with them. Sometimes I can’t help myself.

14 thoughts on ““Tis the season”

    1. Thanks Lisa. I suspect I’ll still be hanging around. Writing has a particular grip on us, doesn’t it? I wish the same for you. I hope to get to your book come the new year.

  1. Well of course I’m going to comment on this one. Grief is a journey. Glad to see you continuing to move forward. Happy Holidays!!! P.S. Did you know it is snowing on your page? Kind of freaked me out at first.

  2. I was glad to see the post but not surprised that you’re unsure where to go with it. It seems to me that several years ago you weren’t wanting to blog and was unsure what to write in it. Perhaps you want to write, but not blog. I’ve enjoyed being friends, but you need to do what makes sense for your creativity, not someone else’s.

    Nancy

  3. My mom died just before Christmas three years ago. I miss her, but more often, my sister and I remember her with pleasure. She was 90 when she died, and she lived a good life. I’ll always be grateful to her for being such an excellent mother.

    This Christmas I’ll be flying to my daughter’s house and spending the holiday with all my children and grandchildren.

    Your closing words were a great summing up: The Christmas season in “a reminder that this is what our lives here on this planet are about, learning to have joy in the presence of the inevitable sorrow.”

Comments

